2017 Between Flights #3

English:

In this kind of text I always try to be as free as possible, deriving from the planes, the airports, the routes, trying to concentrate on a time of reflection and evaluation of plans, paths, and expectations. These times of departures and arrivals are the most difficult and painful for me, I easily go into thoughts that question all the decisions I have made and do. Am I giving the best of myself? Am I able to enjoy and live the most opportunities?

It’s been two weeks since I’ve been in Sao Paulo, I’ve never been away from home for so long. Living in Brazil from a distance, I often felt as if I was missing out on opportunities or closing doors, I believed everyone was doing well, having fun and making progress. I think that everyone who makes the decision to leave the country and try a new life venturing in a different place goes through these questions, did I make the right choice? If I’m on the right track? Would things be different?

I have the wrong impression that I have spent the last few months in London locked in the bedroom or in the library, buried by books about the light I no longer saw. But is this feeling true? Or am I generalizing things?

The artist Yoko Ono has a famous and poetic performance named “Cleaning Pieces II” in which she invites the participants to make two piles of stones, one referring to their moments of happiness and another concerning the sadness, as a way to clean sad moments and exalting happy moments.

In this text, I want to do something similar, but I will not differentiate happy or sad moments, I believe in the importance of moments and feelings whatever they are.

Captura de Tela 2017-08-10 às 18.27.30.png

Captura de Tela 2017-08-10 às 18.27.47.png

Foto-02-Pedras.pngdestaque-robr.png

 

In recent months I:

  1. I was very cold and very hot walking around London, knowing new things, new cultures, and unexplored places.
  2. I saw exhibits and watched amazing movies in huge cinemas and those old ones that lead straight to the street, that when we leave we need a moment to understand if what we live is still fiction or not.
  3. I made new friends who introduced me to new foods and cultures.
  4. I met Oxford, Woodstock, Brighton and Portugal where I got to know Paula Rego’s work better and got my photographic look by day, while at night I suffered from words and rules doing my dissertation.
  5. I walked up and down with my parents through the streets of Lisbon, Porto, and Cascais
  6. I re-designed and managed to make gear that came out of my comfort zone, even if they did not look exactly as expected.
  7. I did two new works on the video ‘Whites’ in the London winter and ‘Translation’ in the summer.
  8. I met people from various parts of the world and produced art together at Low Residency.
  9. I saw my cousin get married twice.
  10. I played with Holo Lens, Virtual Reality, and Green Screen.
  11. I saw Robert Henke’s fantastic Lumiere III on the Barbican.
  12. I saw David Hockney’s famous exhibition.
  13. I changed rooms twice and now I have a place I can start calling home.
  14. I wrote many pages and finished the dissertation on time.
  15. I started teaching a 15-year-old girl about cinematic language, she’s teaching me about the life of a teenager in East London.
  16. I met my Brazilian teacher and together we met the Warburg Institute
  17. I spoke a lot of English and Portuguese.
  18. I had long afternoons of conversations, recordings, and the arts with Chila Burman
  19. I cried in front of the tube station near my birthday
  20. I attended several shows, served drinks and got some tips
  21. I edited some videos, but less than I would like.
  22. I read and worked a lot in the parks, opening the computer in the middle of the trees.
  23. Two Doves flew over my face, I still remember the texture of the wings on my face.
  24. I thought I was depressed.
  25. I was jealous, and I missed home.
  26. I spent days inside the room
  27. I spent days inside the library
  28. I turned 28 and spent my birthday away from everything, (but close).
  29. I spent nights that I should be working and writing, talking and procrastinating.
  30. I had aesthetic losses when my lens magically fell off the camera.
  31. I ate more pizza than I would like.
  32. I made a little money, but I spent a lot.
  33. I spent a Sunday trying to see a deer in a forest and I ended up losing myself.
  34. I ate frozen foods and fresh salads
  35. I have had many coffees and teas.
  36. I took many photos, analog and digital
  37. I’ve shot many hours that I have not edited yet
  38. I gained some followers on Instagram and some compliments on the small videos
  39. I participated in a selection process for a job, but I was not accepted, it was not meant to be.
  40. I liked the LGBT parade
  41. I saw my mother from a distance, witnessing her winning over cancer and chemotherapy
  42. I’ve sold some necklaces, but I want to structure my online store.
  43. I photographed an exhibition.
  44. I went to an independent punk show in an underground pub
  45. I spent a night out selling drinks at a college party.
  46. I bought towels, pots, and linens.
  47. I held meetings that led to nothing.
  48. I spent hours in a queue that was not worth it.
  49. I was surprised by the work of friends and wanted to work with virtual reality.
  50. I spent more than 24 hours traveling.

My house remains the same, my room remains the same, maybe the people I love remain the same and me? Am I still the same?

No

PS: this semester the Tomie Ohtake Institute in São Paulo brought a retrospective of Yoko Ono. One of the works is the piece “When the phone rings, know that it’s me”, a phone that only the artist herself would have the number. In the middle of the exhibition the phone rang, it was the NET – the provider of telephone and internet company trying to sell some product.

 

Português:

Neste tipo de texto eu sempre tento ser o mais livre possível, derivando nos aviões, nos aeroportos, nos trajetos, tentando me concentrar em um tempo de reflexão e avaliação dos planos, dos caminhos e das expectativas. Estes momentos de chegadas e saídas são os mais difíceis e doloridos para mim, facilmente entro em pensamentos que me a questionar todas as decisões que eu fiz e faço. Será que estou dando o melhor de mim? Será que eu estou conseguindo aproveitar e viver ao máximo as oportunidades?

Já fazem duas semanas que eu estou em São Paulo, eu nunca tinha ficado tanto tempo fora de casa. Vivendo o Brasil a distância, muitas vezes eu sentia como se talvez estivesse perdendo oportunidades ou fechando portas, acreditava que todos estavam bem, se divertindo e progredindo. Acho que todo mundo que toma a decisão de sair do país e tentar uma nova vida se aventurando em um lugar diferente passa por esses questionamentos: será que eu fiz a escolha certa? se estou no caminho certo? Será que as coisas seriam diferentes?

Eu tenho a errônea impressão que eu passei os últimos meses em Londres trancada no quarto ou na biblioteca, soterrada por livros sobre a luz que eu já não via mais. Mas será que esse sentimento é verdadeiro? Ou eu estou generalizando as coisas?  

A artista Yoko Ono tem uma famosa e poética performance nomeada “peça de limpar II” em que ela convida os participantes a faz duas pilhas de pedras, um referente aos seus momentos de felicidades e outro referente as tristezas, como uma forma de limpar os momentos tristes e exaltar os momentos felizes.

Neste texto eu quero fazer algo parecido, mas não vou diferenciar momentos felizes ou tristes, eu acredito na importância dos momentos e sentimentos sejam lá qual forem.

Nos últimos meses eu:

  1. Passei muito frio e muito calor andando por Londres, conhecendo novas coisas, novas culturas e lugares inexplorados.
  2. Vi exposições e assisti filmes incríveis em cinemas enormes e naqueles antigos que dão direto para a rua, que quando saímos precisamos de um momento para entender se o que vivemos ainda é ficção.
  3. Fiz novos amigos que me apresentaram novas comidas e culturas.  
  4. Eu conheci Oxford, Woodstock, Brighton e Portugal onde eu conheci melhor o trabalho da Paula Rego e apurei meu olhar fotográfico de dia, enquanto de noite, fazendo a dissertação eu sofri com as palavras e regras
  5. Andei para cima e para baixo com meus pais pelas ruas de Lisboa, Porto e Cascais 
  6. Voltei a desenhar e consegui fazer artes que saíssem da minha zona de conforto, mesmo que elas não tenham ficado exatamente como o esperado.
  7. Fiz duas obras novas o vídeo ‘Whites’ no inverno Londrinho e a sua ‘Tradução’ no verão.
  8. Conheci gente de varias partes do mundo e produzimos arte juntos na Low Residency.
  9. Eu vi minha prima se casar duas vezes.
  10. Brinquei com Holo Lens, Realidade Virtual e Green Screen.  
  11. Vi o fantástico Lumiere III do Robert Henke  no Barbican. 
  12. Vi a famosa exposição do David Hockney.
  13. Troquei de quarto duas vezes e agora eu tenho um lugar que posso começar a chamar de casa. 
  14. Escrevi muitas páginas e terminei a dissertação no prazo.
  15. Comecei a dar aula para uma menina de 15 anos sobre linguagem cinematográfica, ela está me ensinando sobre a vida de uma adolescente em East London.
  16. Encontrei minha professora brasileira e juntas conhecemos o Warburg Institute 
  17. Falei muito inglês e muito português 
  18. Tive longas tardes de conversas, gravações e artes com a Chila Burman 
  19. Chorei na frente do metro perto do meu aniversário
  20. Assisti vários shows, servi muitos drinks e ganhei algumas gorjetas 
  21. Editei alguns vídeos, mas menos do que eu gostaria. 
  22. Li e trabalhei muito nos parques, abrindo o computador no meio das arvores. 
  23. Duas pombas voaram no meu rosto, eu ainda lembro da textura das asas na minha cara. 
  24. Achei que estava com depressão. 
  25. Senti ciúmes, inveja e saudades. 
  26. Passei dias dentro do quarto
  27. Passei dias dentro da biblioteca
  28. Fiz 28 anos e passei meu aniversario longe de tudo, mas perto também. 
  29. Passei noites que deveria estra trabalhando e escrevendo conversando e procrastinando. 
  30. Tive prejuízos estéticos quando minha lente magicamente despencou da câmera. 
  31. Comi mais pizza do que gostaria. 
  32. Ganhei pouco dinheiro, mas gastei muito. 
  33. Passei um domingo tentando ver cervos na floresta e acabei me perdendo. 
  34. Comi comidas congeladas e saladas frescas 
  35. Tomei muitos cafés e chás. 
  36. Tirei muitas fotos, analógicas e digitais 
  37. Filmei muitas horas que ainda não editei 
  38. Ganhei alguns seguidores no Instagram e alguns elogios nos pequenos vídeos 
  39. Participei de um processo seletivo para um trabalho, mas não fui aceita, não era para ser. 
  40. Curti a parada LGBT
  41. Vi de longe minha mãe enfrentar e vencer um câncer e uma quimioterapia
  42. Vendi alguns colares, mas quero estruturar minha loja online 
  43. Fotografei uma exposição.
  44. Fui em um show de punk independente em um pub underground 
  45. Passei uma noite em claro vendendo bebida em uma festa de faculdade. 
  46. Comprei toalhas, panelas e roupas de cama. 
  47. Fiz reuniões que não levaram a nada. 
  48. Fiquei horas em uma fila que não valeu a pena. 
  49. Me surpreendi com trabalhos de amigos e tive vontade de trabalhar com realidade virtual.
  50. Passei mais do que 24 horas viajando. 

A minha casa continua a mesma , o meu quarto continua o mesmo, talvez as pessoas que eu amo continuam as mesmas e eu ? Será que eu continuo a mesma? 

Não

PS: neste semestre o Instituto Tomie Ohtake em São Paulo trouxe uma retrospectiva da Yoko Ono. Um dos trabalhos é a obra ”Quando o telefone tocar saiba que sou eu”, um telefone que só a própria artista teria o número.  No meio da exposição o telefone tocou, era a NET – Empresa provedora de telefonia e internet tentando vender algum produto.

 

 

Leave a Reply

