Tutorial #3

English:

19. The conventions of art are altered by works of art.

20. Successful art changes our understanding of the conventions by altering our perceptions.
21. Perception of ideas leads to new ideas.

The face-to-face meetings with Jonathan are always very productive, expressing my ideas and anxieties out loud is a very helpful and important strategy within the creative process.

Our conversation began with a positive response from the artist Chila Bauman about a possible collaboration, I would love to be closer to her creative process and make videos and photos for her. We will get in touch soon and see the possibilities.

When we talked about my artistic work over the last few months I admitted that I find it very difficult to combine my academic/professional obligations with my artistic practice. I often see my experiences with videos, photos, and drawings as hobbies or “waste of time” and this is not healthy and blocks me from delving deeper into artistic processes. This MA is the right opportunity to combine a methodological to the practical approach to the processes, it is the valuing of the experiments and the plays, the construction of my artistic voice that is valuable within the current society. Maybe I need discipline in my artistic makings, taking it seriously and working with art for at least an hour every day.

In my post Leaking art, I put it that in the middle of the academic processes the art “leaks” from me in some way. Almost intuitively I am producing small videos and experiments for Instagram, but I do not know where or if they will turn into “Something.” Jonathan made me realize that the Instagram’s little videos and experiences are already “something” and that sometimes we are frustrated not to participate in the official and traditional circuit of art, but these barriers are dissolving and producing content and knowledge for digital platforms like Instagram or Youtube is a very interesting way to display the art in addition to approaching the public.

On this, he indicated the text ‘Beyond the white cube’ by Brian the ‘Doherty

About the art piece that I will do in the middle of July together with the final exhibition of the sophomores I decided not to use video. Besides the concepts like time, memory and perception, the movement is also something that guides my work, I want to continue exploring this movement, but in other ways. Based on my video “Whites” I intend to do a piece contemplating it through another platform, I do not know yet whether it will be in sculpture, drawing, printing or the sum of it all. But I’m excited to explore.

In Tutorship, we come to the concept of Translation of Medias, which Lev Manovich understands as Remediation. When we translate something, whether it is a text or a piece of art, we have the task of reformulating and reconstructing it, contemplating new interpretations and paradigms. I as an immigrant, a foreigner, a Brazilian, have the translation as part of my daily life, so I believe it is appropriate to explore it in my next artistic steps.

 

Português:

Os encontros face a face com o Jonathan são sempre muito produtivos, expressar nossas ideias e angustias em voz alta é uma estratégia muito proveitosa e importante dentro do processo criativo. 

Nossa conversa começou com uma resposta positiva da artista Chila Bauman, sobre uma possível colaboração de trabalhos, eu adoraria estar mais próxima de seu processo criativo e fazer vídeos e fotos para ela. Logo entraremos em contato e veremos as possibilidades. 

Quando conversamos sobre meus trabalhos artísticos dos últimos meses eu admiti que sinto muito dificuldade de combinar minhas obrigações acadêmicas/ profissionais com a minha prática artística. Muitas vezes entendo as experiências com vídeos, fotos, desenhos como hobbies ou “perda de tempo” e isso não é saudável e me bloqueia em aprofundar com seriedade nos processos artísticos. Este MA é a oportunidade certa de juntar uma abordagem e metodológica para os processos práticos, seria a valorização dos experimentos e das brincadeiras, seria a construção da minha voz artística que tem valor dentro da sociedade atual.  Talvez eu precise de disciplina no meu fazer artístico, levar a sério e trabalhar com arte no mínimo uma hora por dia.

No meu post Leaking art, eu coloquei que no meio dos processos acadêmicos a arte “vaza” de mim de alguma forma. Quase intuitivamente eu estou produzindo pequenos vídeos de experiências para o Instagram, mas não sei para onde ou se eles vão se transformar em “alguma coisa”. O Jonathan me fez perceber que os pequenos vídeos e as experiências do Instagram já são “alguma coisa” e que as vezes ficamos frustrados por não participar do circuito oficial e tradicional da arte, mas essas barreiras estão se dissolvendo e produzir conteúdo e conhecimento para plataformas digitais como Instagram ou Youtube é um caminho muito interessante para exibição da arte, além de aproximar o público. 

Sobre isso me foi indicado o texto ‘Beyond the white cube’ do Brian o’ Doherty

Sobre a peça artística que realizarei no meio de julho junto com a exposição final dos alunos do segundo ano decidi não usar vídeo. Além dos conceitos como tempo, memória e percepção o movimento é algo que também guia o meu trabalho, quero continuar explorando este movimento, mas de outras formas. Usando como base o meu vídeo “Whites” pretendo fazer um trabalho o contemple em outra plataforma, não sei ainda se será no formato de escultura, desenho, impressão ou a soma de tudo. Mas estou animada para explorar.

Na Tutoria chegamos no conceito da Tradução de Midias, o que Lev Manovich entende como Remediation. Quando traduzimos algo, seja um texto ou uma arte temos o trabalho de reformulá-la e reconstrui-la, contemplando as novas interpretações e paradigmas. Eu como imigrante, estrangeira, brasileira tenho a tradução como parte do meu cotidiano, então acredito que é condizente explora-la nos próximos passos artísticos.  

 
 
 
Leave a Reply

