Leaking Art

English:

At this moment I feel kind of strange writing words that are neither quotes nor referring to the theme Light in Art. From the moment I chose to venture into the MA and the London life, I knew that there would be a moment of finalization of my projects in Brazil, and the Mackenzie’s University MA is one of them.

When I made this choice I thought: the dissertation is the last thing tl be done, and I have a whole year to write it … and now I’m here, it’s 1 month left to the date of delivery and I’m still suffering from anxiety, spending sleepless nights and sleepy days locked at home.

So I spent my last month struggling. Fighting over time, concentration, anguish, anxiety, depression, procrastination, writing and trying to find me in the middle of all of it. It seems that I have undergone a process of suspension of my life and of what I am. I feel now that as I read, connected the words and tried to make sense from work that I consider bigger than myself, I diluted myself, my confidence dissolved, my will ended and gradually in the midst of a whirlwind of feelings I was no longer myself.

In the midst of my insecurity with words I looked at some illustrations and began to wonder if I could do something different from what I had been doing. Without any pencil outlines, I was searching for a new trace as if I were building a new identity from scratch.

These drawings have evolved into shapes and faces made of blocks of color. Using acrylic ink pens I tried portraying the light, shadow, and color, making faces of women with layers of paint. I began to realize that the drawings became masks and that at the time I was someone else when I took pictures of them.

 

 

 

Beyond the drawings, I began to explore moments of creativity within the day-day of the research. I found Instagram as an interesting platform to instantly share these experiences.

 The little bit of the artwork I did in this period came from this period. Within my obsessive habit of taking a task and putting it above everything else in my life (in this case, the dissertation), the drawings and small experiences with photos and videos ‘happened’ almost without my realization, it was as if they had “leaked” from me. Like an escape valve that made me go back to reality and remember who I am.

I believe that these drawings or the small videos will not have a great future, but why everything that we do have to be something more? Does it have to become something? Does everything have to be related work? I feel that even if they become just a few more drawings inside a folder in the closet they have fulfilled their function, that is of helping me to deal with the processes. And to remind me that even though things may be very difficult now, this is just a layer of paint over the final product. In the end, everything fits together.

Today I still have a good way to go with the dissertation, but I feel that I am slowly finding myself and realizing my place in all this. I think the next drawing of this kind will be a self-portrait.

 

 

Português:

Neste momento me sinto meio estranha escrevendo palavras que não são nem citações nem referentes a ao tema Luz na arte. Desde o momento que escolhi me aventurar no mestrado e na vida londrina eu sabia que chegaria um momento de finalizações dos meus projetos do Brasil, e o mestrado do Mackenzie é um deles. 

Quando eu fiz esta escolha eu pensava: agora só falta a dissertação, e tenho um ano inteiro para escreve-la… agora estou aqui, falta cerca de 1 mês para a data da entrega e eu ainda estou sofrendo de ansiedade, passando noites em claro perdida e dias com sono trancada em casa. 

Assim passei meu último mês, lutando. Lutando com o tempo, com a concentração, com a angustia, ansiedade, depressão, procrastinação, escrita e tentando me encontrar no meio disso tudo. Parece que passei por um processo de suspensão da minha vida e do que eu sou. Sinto que enquanto eu lia, relacionava as palavras e tentava dar sentido a um trabalho que eu considero maior que eu, eu me diluía, minha confiança se dissolvia, minha vontade acabava e aos poucos no meio de um turbilhão de sentimentos eu não me encontrava mais.

No meio da minha insegurança com as palavras eu olhei algumas ilustrações e comecei a me questionar se eu era capaz de fazer algo tão diferente do que vinha fazendo. Sem nenhum contorno a lápis eu fui buscando um novo traço, como se estivesse construindo uma nova identidade. 

Estes desenhos evoluíram para estudos de formas e rostos dentro de blocos de cores. Usando canetas de tinta acrílica eu experimentei retratar a luz, sombra e cor fazendo rostos de mulheres com camadas de tinta. Comecei a perceber que os desenhos se tornaram máscaras e que no momento da foto eu era outra pessoa. 

Além dos desenhos comecei a explorar momentos de criatividade dentro do dia-dia da pesquisa. Percebi o instagram como uma plataforma interessante para dividir instantaneamente estas experiências. 

O pouco dos trabalhos artísticos que fiz neste período vieram neste momento. Dentro do meu habito obsessivo de tomar uma função e coloca-la acima de tudo na minha vida (neste caso a dissertação), os desenhos e as pequenas experiências em fotos e vídeos aconteceram quase que sem eu perceber foi como se eles tivessem “vazado” de mim. Como uma válvula de escape que me fazia voltar para a realidade e me lembrar de quem eu sou. 

Acredito que estes desenhos ou os pequenos vídeos não terão grande futuro, mas será que tudo que fazemos temos que esperar por algo mais? Tem que se tornar algo? Tudo tem que ser trabalho? Sinto que mesmo que eles se tornem apenas mais alguns desenhos dentro de uma pasta no armário eles cumpriram sua função, a de me ajudar a lidar com os processos. E de me lembrar que mesmo que as coisas estejam muito difíceis, elas só são mais uma camada de tinta dentro do produto final. No fim as coisas se encaixam. 

Hoje, ainda falta um bom caminho para eu andar com a dissertação, mas sinto que estou aos poucos voltando a me encontrar e perceber o meu lugar nisso tudo. Acho que o próximo desenho desse tipo que eu fizer será um autorretrato. 

Leave a Reply

