Tutorial #2

English:

On April 20, I had my second tutoring with Jonathan. Our conversation happened in the middle of my dissertation writing process and it gave me some relief to be able to talk and think about other things and to remember that I was not abandoned or forgotten in a room buried under a mountain of books, trying to make sense of it all. But I have to admit that after the conversation I was again sucked into the whirlwind of anxious and desperate writing, and I could not practice much of what we talked about in the tutoring.

As it would be impossible to be otherwise, our conversation began with me telling him about the writing process and my insecurities about the dissertation. I have commented several times on this blog, but this moment is being very complicated and I am dealing with many personal and professional questionings about this stage of my life. Even though the situation and the moment are making me exhausted and depressed I am very passionate about the artists and the research that I am doing, and Jonathan has introduced me with the UAL professor Michael Aspery, whose theoretical research is Brazilian artists. We have not yet been able to find a date for coffee, but I would like to know him and have a better understanding of the possible paths that this theoretical academic research can take me. I intend to meet him soon.

Another subject that we discussed was about the drawings and small experiments that I am doing in this process. It’s as if my expression sometimes struggles to survive in a hostile mental environment, and when I I least expect it “leaks” in some way, whether it’s in the form of pictures, videos, or a few looser words scribbled on a napkin. I understand that I need to better reconcile my artistic practice with my professional or academic practice, but I still have a hard time understanding it as “work” and not as a hobby or merely waste of time. 

At the end of this term, we will have the opportunity to present a small work together with the sophomores, and I am excited to have a deadline to produce something new and different from what I have been doing. In our conversation, Jonathan pointed out that I should not consider myself as a video-only artist, since my research with light and water can be performed in different media, and this is what I intend to begin to explore in this new MA stage, really. Get me out of my comfort zone. I thought of some things in the universe of kinetic sculpture or light boxes, and even in photography or painting. But I still have a lot to experience in this regard.

A few days ago I saw this publication in The Guardian about an artist who condenses all the frames of the movies into a single image and I found it very interesting. The artist is exhibiting here and I’m going to see his works live.

Another subject that Jonathan brought up was related to my old desire to venture into the world of sound. I still feel this area a bit distant for me, but I understand that it’s something I should start exploring in a practical way, do it.

At the end of the last quarter, I was a little frustrated with my work, thinking that I should put more of my guts in it, bringing more impact to it and even shock. But by sticking to my guns I think I’m on the right track because when I  work with the collective memories and feelings I stand up for my personal self with authenticity.

We finished our one-hour conversation with my desire to work more in the field after I finish Mackenzie’s dissertation. I would like to have more professional experiences. Jonathan told me to register at Arts Temp and he said he would let me know if he knew about an artist who needs me to work or record. I’m available to work for free if I enjoy the job.

 Summing up the conversation I feel that the uncertainty and complexity of what I am feeling now are normal at this time. I will try to go through this period in a creative way.

Captura de Tela 2017-05-18 às 10.30.36.png

Jason Shulman captures the entire duration of a movie in a single image with his series Photographs of Films. New large-scale versions of the works are being shown as part of the Photo London festival, 17-21 May. The series is at Cob Gallery, London, until 4 June. All photographs: courtesy Jason Shulman and Cob Gallery

Português

No dia 20/04 tive a minha segunda sessão de tutoria com o Jonathan, a nossa conversa aconteceu no meio do meu processo de escrita da dissertação e me trouxe um alívio poder falar e pensar em outras coisas, lembrar que eu não estava abandonada ou esquecida em um quarto soterrada em uma montanha de livros e tentando dar sentido a tudo isso. Mas tenho que admitir que depois da conversa fui sugada novamente pelo turbilhão da escrita ansiosa e desesperada, e não consegui praticar muito do que conversamos na tutoria.

Não tendo como ser diferente a nossa conversa começou comigo contando sobre o processo de escrita e minhas inseguranças a respeito da dissertação. Já comentei várias vezes nesse blog, mas este momento está sendo muito complicado e estou lidando com muitos questionamentos pessoais e profissionais sobre este estado da minha vida. Por mais que a situação e o momento estejam me deixando esgotada e depressiva eu sou muito apaixonada pelos artistas e pela pesquisa que estou fazendo e o Jonathan me colocou em contato com um professor da UAL Michael Aspery, que tem como pesquisa teórica artistas brasileiros. Ainda não conseguimos conciliar datas para tomarmos um café, mas eu gostaria muito de conhece-lo e entender melhor os possíveis caminhos que esta pesquisa acadêmica teórica pode me levar, pretendo fazer isso em breve. 

Outro assunto que colocamos em pauta foi a respeito dos desenhos e pequenos experimentos que estou fazendo nesse processo. É como se minha expressão as vezes lutasse para sobreviver dentro de um ambiente mental hostil, e quando eu menos espero ela “vaza” de alguma forma, seja em forma de desenhos de fotos, vídeos ou algumas palavras um pouco mais soltas em um guardanapo. Eu entendo que preciso conciliar melhor minha prática artística com minha prática profissional ou acadêmica, mas ainda tenho muita dificuldade de entende-la também como “trabalho” e não como um hobby ou perda de tempo. Talvez uma boa alternativa para melhorar isso esteja em criar uma metodologia também para o processo artístico, tirar no mínimo duas horas do meu dia para a prática, seja em desenho, vídeo, foto e entender isso como um trabalho. 

No fim deste período teremos a oportunidade de apresentar uma pequena obra junto com os alunos do segundo ano, e eu estou animada de ter um deadline para produzir algo novo e diferente do que venho fazendo. Na nossa conversa, Jonathan pontuou que eu não devo me considerar uma artista apenas de vídeo, pois minha pesquisa com a luz e com a água pode ser colocada em diferentes mídias, e isso que eu pretendo começar a explorar nessa nova etapa do mestrado, realmente me colocar fora da minha zona de conforto. Pensei em algumas coisas no universo da escultura cinética ou das caixas de luz, e até na fotografia ou pintura. Mas ainda tenho muito o que experimentar neste sentido.

A poucos dias vi essa publicação do The Guardian a respeito de um artista que condensa todos os frames do filmes em uma única imagem, achei um efeito muito interessante. O artista está expondo por aqui e eu vou ver as obras ao vivo.

Outro assunto que o Jonathan trouxe foi a respeito da minha vontade antiga de me aventurar no mundo do som. Eu ainda sinto essa área um pouco distante para mim, mas entendo que é algo que eu devo começar a explorar de maneira prática, pegar e fazer. 

No final no trimestre passado fiquei um pouco frustrada com o meu trabalho, achando que eu deveria colocar mais do meu pessoal nele, trazer mais impacto e até chocar. Mas ao represar tudo isso, vejo agora acho que estou no caminho certo, pois ao trabalhar com as memorias coletivas e sentimentos eu coloco o meu eu pessoal com mais autenticidade. 

Terminamos nossa quase 1 hora de conversa com a minha vontade de trabalhar mais na área depois que eu finalizar a dissertação do Mackenzie, gostaria de ter mais experiências profissionais,  o Jonathan  me indicou me registrar no Arts Temp e disse que me avisará caso ficasse sabendo de algum artista que precisa de uma assistência/ registro do trabalho. Eu estou disponível para trabalhar de graça, caso eu goste do trabalho

Resumindo a conversa sinto que a incerteza e complexidade do que eu estou sentido agora são normais nesse momento. Vou tentar passar por elas de uma forma criativa

Leave a Reply

