Green Screen

English:

One of the most distressing things about studying at Camberwell is not having enough time to explore all the equipment, workshops, and classes the course has made available to me. 

Even though I knew how the Chroma Key worked, and the whole theory behind the green screen I never had the opportunity to play and experiment with it in practice. Until one Monday afternoon when Terry and Alasdair invited me to experiment with them.I had already done some research and was able to quickly program the Isadora Software to reproduce the green screen clipping on real-time television, but I had a big problem setting up the Canon EOS camera to be recognized by the computer. A few hours of research later I got the computer to recognize it as a webcam via Syphon. It may sound silly, but this process of understanding a technology and being able to do it by myself made me feel very victorious and confident. I found the first result very interesting, but I believe I still have a lot to research and

I had already done some research and was able to quickly program the Isadora Software to reproduce the green screen clipping on real-time television, but I had a big problem setting up the Canon EOS camera to be recognized by the computer. A few hours of research later I got the computer to recognize it as a webcam via Syphon. It may sound silly, but this process of understanding a technology and being able to do it by myself made me feel very victorious and confident. I found the first result very interesting, but I believe I still have a lot to research and

I found the first result very interesting, but I believe I still have a lot to research and learn because the video possibilities and experiences with the green screen are limitless.The next step in this research is to understand why the cutout does not work very well with dark colors and how to improve the combination of lights to have a homogeneous illumination that may improve the cut. 

In addition to that, from the practical experience of technology viewpoint, I identified myself with the dynamic of the workshop that we created naturally. I really like to pass on my knowledge and learn from colleagues, and I hope we have more opportunities for this. I am available to create, learn and teach together.

I am available to create, learn and teach together.

IMG_9789IMG_9785IMG_9791IMG_9784IMG_9792IMG_9793

Português:

Umas das maiores angústias sobre estar frequentando o mestrado em Camberwell diz respeito a não ter tempo suficiente para explorar todas as possibilidades de equipamento, workshops e aulas que o curso me disponibiliza

Mesmo sabendo como o Chroma Key funcionava e toda a teoria por trás da tela verde eu nunca tive a oportunidade de brincar e experimentar na prática. Até uma tarde de segunda feira quando o Terry e o Alasdair me convidaram para experimentar com eles. 

Eu já tinha feito algumas pesquisas e consegui rapidamente programar o Software Isadora para reproduzir o recorte da tela verde na televisão em tempo real, mas tive um grande problema em configurar a câmera Canon EOS para ser lida pelo computador. Algumas horas de pesquisa e eu consegui que o computador a reconhecesse como webcam via Syphon. Pode parecer besteira, mas este processo de entender uma tecnologia e conseguir executá-la sozinha fez em me sentir muito vitoriosa e confiante. 

Achei o primeiro resultado muito interessante, mas acredito que ainda tenho muito o que pesquisar e aprender, pois as possibilidades de vídeo e experiências com a tela verde são ilimitadas. 

O próximo passo de pesquisa neste sentido é entender porque o recorte não funciona muito bem com cores escuras e como melhorar a combinação de luzes para ter uma iluminação homogênea que melhore o recorte. 

Além, da própria experiência pratica da tecnologia me identifiquei com a dinâmica de “workshop” que naturalmente criamos. Eu gosto muito de passar o meu conhecimento e aprender com os colegas, espero que tenhamos mais oportunidades para isso.

Eu estou disponivel para criar, aprender  e ensinar em conjunto. 

Leave a Reply

