Uncertain Motion

Mid-Point Review Feedback 

English:

Before entering into the feedback from colleagues about my video and my work I will put here a bit of how was my process of personal reflection and midpoint achievement. I know that sometimes I have cyclical and conflicting feelings about my work, I have a hard time being fully satisfied with what I do and the times I get this feeling does not last very long, I need to accomplish another. At this stage, if I do not have the time, inspiration, or concentration to create something new, I begin to question my ability and artistic view, and I may even have destructive thoughts about my art.

I’m in a very academic moment, worrying about the master’s dissertation from Brazil, doubting my ability, not being able to focus on artistic practice, which I often mistakenly categorize as a hobby. The realization of the Mid Point came at that time when I was already beginning to question my choices that brought me here. I took this challenge as an opportunity not only to review my work and reassess it but also to rescue my confidence and passion for doing it.

For the Mid Point, I wanted to produce a new piece of art, something that had only images and sensations, something that would open the viewer’s perception. But I understood that this activity was part of the structure of the academic + practical masters and that I needed to make clear and cohesive where I came from and where I’m going in a 5-minute video. I tried to make the video in a way that explained my steps and would still include it as part of my work, I worried about the small details that form a cohesive narrative to me. I found it harder to include my personal language within the rules presented by the activity than to clearly subvert it completely. For example, I used Portuguese not only to talk about my hometown and my

For example: I used Portuguese not only to talk about my hometown and my identity but also to present a new language to English speakers that even with the subtitles there is a difficulty in fully understanding the meaning; I worried about the colors of the video and the pieces of work, which go from blues and greens when I speak of my memory, to red and white when I refer to the everyday foreign self in London; In addition to starting the video with the speech of the artist Willian Kentridge that highlights the beauty of artistic uncertainty, and return to it at the end presenting three endings and stating my uncertain movement.

When I finished the video I was very satisfied with the result, I felt that I was on the move, that I had managed to realize a productive personal reflection in several layers and communicate it in the way that was required by the academic standards. 

On Tuesday (03/13/2017) after a few days with the video ready and receiving positive feedbacks, the session with the colleagues happened. The proposal was to watch each of the videos again and discuss the work. Each student was watching, but could not say anything about his own work, his communication was strict in those 5 minutes. 

It was very interesting to see the work of the other colleagues. I’m always surprised because even coming from different places and different paths I can see relationships and points in common among the work of my colleagues. Many things that were commented on to other students work could also be for me.

When it was my turn to be “analyzed” I felt insecure, not liking my video or my work anymore. The first thing I reflected when reviewing my video was that maybe I have to improve my ability to synthesize and edit, sometimes things take their time and we do not need to rush. In my presentations, I think I can try to be calmer and simpler. About the work, the initial question was why to continue with the trees of my hometown in London, what does that mean for me? I felt that my colleagues understood my purpose of working with memory, and of wanting to share my Brazilian heaven in another context. The choice of the sky, too, relates to a new look at the place I grew up in, a distant look perhaps of foreign, perhaps nostalgia. I realized in our conversation that the under-tree image may be part of our world collective memory, it is a memory of childhood for many, perhaps it is an interesting way to be more explored. The water is very powerful in my work and can represent different things, maybe now it would interesting to explore the free motions of it.

The performance (Experience # 2 blue) seemed to me to have been well received by colleagues. A question was asked about how important the projected image is, and what relation it would have to the place where the performance is happening. An interesting point to ponder on: will I change the image depending on the place that I it’s performed? But in this context would it remain the same performance or would it be other issues to discussed?

The sound of my videos was also a quoted issue and I admit that it is still a barrier for me, I worked with partner artists in the production of music that is produced especially for my work, but it is an area that I would still like to take ownership of. Meanwhile, I understand my images as visual music. Colleagues even said that my images look like surreal dreams, an abstract idea of how the subconscious works, which are poetic and melancholic images and instructed me to read Bachelard texts.

I think in the end, I found that the place I am influences my work more than I imagined. I’m not an artist who works with site-specific, but I’m an artist who is inspired by the surroundings. By playing with the materials and seeking the changes of perception I am open to receive London and the city inspires my foreign look.

At the same time that I understood and listened to the evaluation of colleagues, the mid point process led me to other ways. I began to reflect on the possibility of explicitly putting my inner self in the artwork, about my questions, fears, nervousness, anxieties and the marks that these feelings leave me. It made me want to expose myself more and venture with different materials and subjects. During the 6 hours of evaluation and insecurity, I began to photograph with macro, these micros details of strong feelings. 

The bitten fingers, the coffee marks … I do not know if this will really become a work or an artistic path, but I think I need to deepen my inner self and expose myself without fear. As I said: I am in an uncertain motion and this is great

 

 

Vic

[14/03/2017, 11:04:48] Jonathan Kearney: comment for Vic from Miriam:

‘about Vic’s last question, I have been to an exhibition in Pace Gallery, called ‘ultra-technologist’.in one installation, the audience were asked to using a blank blanket to wrap themselves, shown and the projection would automatic show on the people who are wearing in white.I think it is an amazing experience to take part in.’

 [14/03/2017, 11:08:38] Inga Linevičiūtė: Hearing Vic’s journey and her feelings about her work somehow add more meaning in her work. The work she’s done it is like a surreal dream of memories. It shows some hidden emotions by disturbing the image using different surfaces and water.

[14/03/2017, 11:10:10] Zara Allen: I wonder if she has read Bachelard? Her work is quite poetic.

[14/03/2017, 11:10:41] Inga Linevičiūtė: It is poetic! It is melancholic and very intuitive

[14/03/2017, 11:12:01] Will Clarke: “The transfer of images into memories ” stated in the video, this really come across in the reflections, the abstract idea of what a physical subconscious might look like

[14/03/2017, 11:12:30] Inga Linevičiūtė: On 14/03/2017, at 11:12, Will Clarke wrote:

> the abstract idea of what a physical subconscious might look like

I like that!

[14/03/2017, 11:18:14] Will Clarke: it looks like the sort of process that some motion in the primary video footage would create quite an impact, has Vic thought of using people etc,, to add more motion

Português:

Antes de adentrar no feedback dos colegas sobre o meu vídeo e o meu trabalho, vou colocar aqui um pouco de como foi meu processo de reflexão pessoal e realização do mid point. Eu sei que as vezes tenho sentimentos cíclicos e conflituosos com relação ao meu trabalho, tenho muita dificuldade em ficar plenamente satisfeita com o que eu realizo, mas nas vezes que eu fico esse sentimento não dura muito tempo, eu preciso realizar outro. Nesse estágio, se eu não tenho tempo, inspiração ou concentração para criar algo novo eu começo a questionar a minha capacidade e o meu olhar artístico, podendo ter pensamentos até destrutivos com relação a minha arte.

Eu estou em um momento muito acadêmico, me preocupando com a dissertação de mestrado do Brasil, duvidando da minha capacidade, não conseguindo me concentrar na prática artística, que muitas vezes erradamente, categorizo como hobby. A realização do Mid Point veio nesse momento, momento em que já estava começando a questionar minhas escolhas que me trouxeram até aqui. Tomei esse desafio como uma oportunidade não só de rever o meu trabalho e reavalia-lo, mas também de resgatar a minha confiança e paixão pelo fazer.

Para o Mid Point eu queria produzir uma nova peça de arte, algo que dessa conta só com imagens e sensações, algo que ficasse aberto a percepção do espectador. Mas entendi que essa atividade fazia parte da estrutura do mestrado acadêmico + prático e que eu precisasse deixar claro e coeso de onde vim e para onde estou indo em um vídeo de 5 minutos. Eu tentei realizar o vídeo de uma forma que explicasse as minhas etapas e ainda inclui-lo como parte do meu trabalho, me preocupei com os pequenos detalhes que para mim formam uma narrativa coesa. Acho mais difícil, incluir a sua linguagem pessoal dentro das regras apresentadas pela atividade do que claramente subverte-la por completo.

Por exemplo: usei o português não só para falar a respeito da minha cidade natal e da minha identidade, mas também para apresentar aos falantes de inglês uma nova linguagem que mesmo com as legendas existe uma dificuldade de compreensão total do significado; Me preocupei com as cores do vídeo e dos trabalhos, que passam de azuis e verdes quando eu falo da minha memoria, para o vermelho e branco quando me refiro ao eu cotidiano estrangeiro em Londres; Além de iniciar o vídeo com a fala do artista plástico Willian Kentridge que evidencia a beleza da incerteza artística, e retornando a ele no fim apresentando 3 finais e afirmando o meu movimento incerto.

Quando terminei o vídeo fiquei muito satisfeita com o resultado, senti que estava em movimento, que tinha conseguido realizar uma produtiva reflexão pessoal em varias camadas e comunica-la da forma que foi exigida pelos caminhos acadêmicos.

Na terça feira (14.03.2017) depois de alguns dias com o vídeo pronto e recebendo feedbacks positivos aconteceu a sessão com os colegas. A propostas foi a de assistirmos cada um dos vídeos novamente e discutirmos sobre o trabalho. O aluno da vez estava observando, mas não poderia falar nada sobre seu trabalho, sua comunicação estava estrita naqueles 5 minutos.

Foi muito interessante ver o trabalho dos colegas, sempre me surpreendo, pois mesmo vindo de lugares e de trajetórias diferentes consigo ver relações e pontos em comum entre os trabalhos dos colegas. Muitas coisas que foram comentados para outros alunos achei que também poderiam ser para o meu

Quando chegou a minha vez de ser “analisada” me senti insegura, não gostando mais nem do meu vídeo e nem dos meus trabalhos. A primeira coisa que refleti ao rever o meu vídeo foi que talvez eu tenha que aprimorar a minha capacidade de síntese e de edição, as vezes as coisas necessitam do tempo delas e não precisamos correr. Nas minhas apresentações acho que posso tentar ser mais calma e mais simples. Sobre o trabalho, a questão inicial foi porque continuar com as arvores da minha cidade natal em Londres, o que isso significa para mim? Senti que os colegas entenderam o meu proposito de trabalhar com a memoria, e de querer partilhar o meu céu brasileiro em outro contexto. A escolha do céu, também se relaciona com um novo olhar para o lugar que eu cresci, um olhar distante talvez de estrangeira, talvez de nostalgia. Percebi na nossa conversa que a imagem de baixo das arvores pode fazer parte da nossa memoria coletiva mundial, é uma recordação de infância para muitos, talvez seja um caminho interessante para ser mais explorado. A agua é muito poderosa em meu trabalho e pode representar diferentes coisas, talvez agora seja interessante explorar os movimentos livres dela.

A performance (Experiência: azul #2) me pareceu que foi bem recebida pelos colegas, foi colocada a questão de qual a importância da imagem projetada e qual relação que ela teria com o lugar em que a performance esta acontecendo. Um ponto interessante para refletir, será que eu mudo a imagem dependendo do lugar que eu irei apresentar? Mas, nesse contexto, ela se manteria como a mesma performance ou seria outra com outras questões para serem trabalhadas?

O Som dos meus vídeos também foi um assunto citado e admito que ainda é uma barreira para mim, trabalhei com artistas parceiros na produção de musicas que sejam produzidas especialmente para meu trabalho, mas é uma área que ainda gostaria de me apropriar. Enquanto isso eu entendo as minhas imagens como musicas visuais.

Os colegas ainda colocaram que minhas imagens parecem sonhos surreais, uma ideia abstrata de como funciona o subconsciente, que são imagens poética e melancólicas e me indicaram ler textos do Bachelard.

Acho que no final, eu descobri que o lugar em que eu estou influencia mais o meu trabalho do que eu imaginava. Não sou uma artista que trabalha com site specific, mas sou uma artista que é inspirada pelos arredores. Brincando com os materiais e buscando as mudanças de percepção eu estou aberta para receber Londres e me deixar inspirar com meu olhar estrangeiro. 

Ao mesmo tempo em que fui entendendo e escutando a avaliação dos colegas o processo do mid point me levou para outros caminhos. Comecei a refletir sobre a possibilidade de explicitamente colocar o meu eu intimo no trabalho artístico, sobre meus questionamentos, medos, nervosismos, ansiedades e as marcas que esses sentimentos deixam em mim. Me deu vontade de me expor mais e me aventurar com materiais e assuntos diferentes. No decorrer das 6 horas de avaliação e insegurança eu comecei a fotografar com macro, esses micros detalhes de fortes sentimentos.

Os dedos comidos, as marcas de café… não sei se isso se tornará realmente um trabalho  ou um caminho artístico, mas acho que preciso me aprofundar no meu intimo e me expor sem medo.

Como eu disse: estou em um movimento incerto e isso é ótimo

Leave a Reply

