Little bits of Poetry

English:

A few days ago, I watched the new movie from one of my favorite directors Jim Jarmusch, Paterson. I admit that it took me a while to organize my thoughts and to perpetuate them writing here. Perhaps one of the reasons for procrastination was the realization that my little sentences will never convey the feelings that still resonate with me, or maybe it’s because of the fear of entering my intimate poetry.

paterson.jpg

On a cold and rainy Thursday, around 13 o’clock in the afternoon, I let go of the pressures, appointments and to-do lists to share with strangers in a dark room a few hours of contemplation, noticing the extraordinary in the small details of everyday life. The film has a simple script- a week in the life of the bus driver Paterson (Adam Driver) in the city of Paterson, New Jersey (USA). We follow his daily life, his encounters and his relationship with his wife Laura (Golshifteh Farahani), his dog Marvin and his friends.

Even though I’ve already gone to the movies knowing they would not have major conflicts in the plot, I spent a good deal of time waiting for something to happen. Hoping for some element of the traditional film narrative that would set me in the comfortable position of watching another Hollywood movie. After a time, the film calmed me down, dissolving my anxiety of looking for signs, theories, and action sequences, taking me to the simple contemplation of the day to day life, with its brief stories, meetings, and dialogues. Simple, but somehow, releasing.It’s funny how after a few days, when I set out to write about the film I began to analyze it in a systematic way, criticizing the characters’ actions, aesthetics, the script and the role of art in the film. I pointed out that the main character should share and show his poetry, building his self-esteem and affirming himself as a poet, and not a ‘mere listener’. While his wife, ‘the producer’ expressed herself creatively and chaotically in various ways, trying to ‘work thing out’ almost naively. I, in my small world, even questioned the choice of poems and the movie’s aesthetics. I mistakenly caught myself judging the film, before understanding that it wasn’t talking about the mistakes and successes in the creative process or the ‘quest for success’, it discussed the approximation of the artistic action in everyday life- looking at the details in a magical way, feeling the pauses, contemplating and allowing ourselves to be inspired by it.

It’s funny how after a few days, when I set out to write about the film I began to analyze it in a systematic way, criticizing the characters’ actions, aesthetics, the script and the role of art in the film. I pointed out that the main character should share and show his poetry, building his self-esteem and affirming himself as a poet, and not a ‘mere listener’. While his wife, ‘the producer’ expressed herself creatively and chaotically in various ways, trying to ‘work thing out’ almost naively. I, in my small world, even questioned the choice of poems and the movie’s aesthetics. I mistakenly caught myself judging the film, before understanding that it wasn’t talking about the mistakes and successes in the creative process or the ‘quest for success’, it discussed the approximation of the artistic action in everyday life- looking at the details in a magical way, feeling the pauses, contemplating and allowing ourselves to be inspired by it.

If I  would get into an analysis of the couple, I feel that the only thing I can talk about is that they are young, loving, with mutual support, and are happy to be able to live the present moment.

Jim Jarmusch made in Paterson an ode to poetry, art, and cinema transforming the peculiarities of life into art. In the end, the experience of the film leaves you with a delicious feeling of the moment, the changes and that the creative process is part of the human being. Perhaps we are sometimes afraid to deal with our own imagination, but it has always been part of us. The film is an invitation to change the pace and look around us as poets- as children.

greeting-paterson-nj-jim-jarmusch.jpg

The film presents the American poet /doctor William Carlos Williams, who lived in Paterson and was published worldwide. However, in this post, I would like to introduce a poet who accompanies me since I was little, inspiring me and remembering me that the world can be simple- the Portuguese Fernando Pessoa, especially his heteronym Alberto Caeiro. ‘To feel is to be distracted’.

IF I DIE YOUNG 

Alberto Caeiro, in “Poemas Inconjuntos”
Heteronym of Fernando Pessoa

If I die young,
Without ever publishing a book,
Without seeing how my poems look in print,
If someone wants to agitate for my cause,
I hope they don’t agitate.
If it happens like that, it happens right.

Even if my poems are never printed,
They have their beauty in them if they really are beautiful.
But they can’t be beautiful and stay unprinted,
Because even though their roots are under the earth
Flowers bloom in the air free and easy to see.
It has to be that way. Nothing can prevent it.

If I die very young, hear this:
I was never anything but a kid playing.
I was a heathen like the sun and the water,
I had the universal religion only people don’t have.
I was happy because I didn’t ask for anything at all,
Or tried to find anything,
And I didn’t find any more explanation
Than the word explanation having no meaning at all.

I didn’t want anything but to be in the sun or the rain-
In the sun when there was sun
And in the rain when it was raining
(And never the opposite),
Feeling heat and cold and wind,
And going no farther than that.

One time I fell in love, I thought they would love me,
But I wasn’t loved.
I wasn’t loved for one main reason-
I didn’t have to be.

I consoled myself by going back to the sun and rain,
And sitting at the door of my house again.
When all’s said and done, fields aren’t as green for people in love
As for those who aren’t.
To feel is to be distracted.

[trans. Chris Daniels & Dana Stevens]

Português:

A alguns dias atrás eu fui ver o novo filme de um dos meus diretores preferidos Jim Jarmusch, Paterson. Admito que demorei um pouco para organizar o meu pensamento e eterniza-los por escrito aqui. Talvez algum dos motivos da procrastinação tenha sido a avaliação que minhas pequenas frases nunca farão juízo ao sentimento que ainda ressoam, ou talvez o medo de adentrar no meu intimo poeta.

Em uma quinta-feira fria e chuvosa, por volta das 13 da tarde eu me desprendi das pressões, compromissos e listas para partilhar com pessoas desconhecidas em uma sala escura algumas horas de contemplação, percebendo o extraordinário nos pequenos detalhes da vida cotidiana. O filme tem um roteiro simples- uma semana na vida do motorista de ônibus Paterson (Adam Driver) na cidade de Paterson New Jersey (EUA). Acompanhamos o seu cotidiano, seus encontros e seus relacionamento, com a sua esposa Laura (Golshifteh Farahani), seu cachorro Marvin e seus amigos.

Mesmo que eu já tenha ido para o cinema sabendo que não teriam grandes conflitos na trama, passei um bom tempo na expectativa que alguma coisa acontecesse. Esperando algum elemento da narrativa tradicional do cinema que me estabelecesse na posição confortável de estar vendo mais um filme Hollywoodiano. Com o passar dos minutos o filme foi me acalmando, dissolvendo a ansiedade de buscar signos, teorias e ações me levando para a simples contemplação do dia a dia, com suas breves histórias, encontros e diálogos. Simples, mas de alguma forma, libertador.     

Engraçado como depois de alguns dias, quando me propus a escrever sobre o filme comecei a analisa-lo de uma forma sistemática, criticando as ações dos personagens, a estética, o roteiro e o papel da arte no filme. Avaliei que o personagem principal deveria dividir e mostrar a sua poesia, construir seu auto estima e se afirmar como poeta deixando de ser um “mero ouvinte”. Enquanto sua esposa, “a produtora” se expressar criativamente e caoticamente de varias formas tentando “dar certo” quase de forma ingênua. Eu, no meu pequeno mundo, cheguei até a questionar a escolha dos poemas e da estética. Me vi, erroneamente, julgando o filme, ele não se trata dos erros e acertos no processo criativo ou sobre a busca por ser bem-sucedido, é sim sobre a aproximação do fazer artístico com a vida, olhando os detalhes de uma forma magica, sentindo a pausa, a contemplação e se permitindo ser inspirado por isso.

Se eu quisesse entrar nessa analise do casal, sinto que a única coisa que posso colocar é que são jovens, se amam, com apoio mutuo, e que são felizes por conseguir viver o momento presente.

 Jim Jarmusch fez em Paterson uma ode a poesia, a arte e ao cinema transformando as particularidades da vida em arte. No fim a experiência do filme te deixa com uma sensação gostosa do momento, da mudança e de que o processo criativo é parte do ser humano. Talvez, às vezes, tenhamos medo de lidar com a própria imaginação, mas isso sempre fez parte de nós. O filme é um convite para mudar o ritmo e olhar ao nosso redor como poetas – como crianças.

O filme nos apresenta o poeta/médico norte americano William Carlos Williams, que viveu em Paterson e foi mundialmente publicado. Porém nesse post eu gostaria de apresentar um poeta que me acompanha desde pequena, me inspirando e relembrando que o mundo pode ser mais simples- o português Fernando Pessoa, em especial seu heterônimo Alberto Caeiro, ‘sentir é estar distraído’. 

Se Eu Morrer Novo

Se eu morrer novo,
Sem poder publicar livro nenhum,
Sem ver a cara que têm os meus versos em letra impressa,
Peço que, se se quiserem ralar por minha causa,
Que não se ralem.
Se assim aconteceu, assim está certo.

Mesmo que os meus versos nunca sejam impressos,
Eles lá terão a sua beleza, se forem belos.
Mas eles não podem ser belos e ficar por imprimir,
Porque as raízes podem estar debaixo da terra
Mas as flores florescem ao ar livre e à vista.
Tem que ser assim por força. Nada o pode impedir.

Se eu morrer muito novo, oiçam isto:
Nunca fui senão uma criança que brincava.
Fui gentio como o sol e a água,
De uma religião universal que só os homens não têm.
Fui feliz porque não pedi cousa nenhuma,
Nem procurei achar nada,
Nem achei que houvesse mais explicação
Que a palavra explicação não ter sentido nenhum.

Não desejei senão estar ao sol ou à chuva —
Ao sol quando havia sol
E à chuva quando estava chovendo (E nunca a outra cousa),
Sentir calor e frio e vento,
E não ir mais longe.

Uma vez amei, julguei que me amariam,
Mas não fui amado.
Não fui amado pela única grande razão —
Porque não tinha que ser.

Consolei-me voltando ao sol e à chuva,
E sentando-me outra vez à porta de casa.
Os campos, afinal, não são tão verdes para os que são amados
Como para os que o não são.
Sentir é estar distraído.

Alberto Caeiro, in “Poemas Inconjuntos”
Heterónimo de Fernando Pessoa

 

 

 

 

One thought on “Little bits of Poetry

Leave a Reply

