2017 Between Flights #2

English:

Starting 2017 with the current Brazilian hit:

Rebooting myself. It takes about a full day flight from SP to London, with moments of reflection and self-questioning in waiting rooms, queues and seated in different crafts. It is the beginning of 2017 and I have already made my classic list of annual goals, and I am writing here a little of my feelings from that moment, as a reminder of my return to London- this time to stay until July. Spoiler Alert: I will have many adventures and accomplishments until there.

I do not like farewells, changes and the travel processes are intense and make me question my choices and evaluate if I’m managing to be and to do my best. Moreover, the missions seem bigger in the first days. But I know that all these feelings are just the will to remain stable, protected and dormant, so I’m happy to be back, moving and building again the uncertain routine in a city that I’m slowly making mine, transforming it into my home.

These past months that I was on “vacation” in Brazil helped me to build my confidence, both artistically and personally. It was great to see and meet people, places and moments, being sure of where I come from and what I am a part of. But I understood it was a ‘farewell visit’, I realized that in fact, my path goes beyond my hometown. There were some moments that I felt displaced and not being a part, but it’s okay, after all, it’s a farewell while I change things also change, and only what truly matters remains-our feelings.

I am sure that this year will be, for me, a year of accomplishments, closings, and restarts. I am proposing myself to read and study. I also plan to bring my academic ties with Brazil into a closure, finish my Master’s paper in São Paulo until July, and complete editing the film Project Mars, so I may effectively build my life in Europe.

During this time that I spent at home, I understood better my relation with the natural elements, that were always very present in my artistic work. I grew up in front of a dam, located in the middle of a city infested by buildings, and it is from this direct contact with nature and water that my being was built. Perhaps it is time for me to pay more attention to this and make it my artistic research. Light and Water.

Some videos that I did in my days at home:

Português:

Reiniciando.  Mais ou menos um dia inteiro para vir de SP até aqui, foram momentos de reflexões e questionamentos em salas de espera, filas e dentro de diferentes aviões. É o inicio de 2017 e eu já fiz a minha clássica lista de metas anuais, mas estou escrevendo aqui um pouco dos meus sentimentos desse momento, como uma lembrança do voltar para Londres, que dessa vez para ficar até julho. Spoiler Alert: terei muitas aventuras e realizações até lá. 

Não gosto de despedidas, mudanças e os processos de viagens são intensos e me fazem questionar minhas escolhas e avaliar se estou conseguindo ser e fazer o meu melhor, além das saudades parecem maiores nos primeiros dias. Mas eu sei que todos estes sentimentos são apenas vontades de permanecer estável, protegida e dormente, por isso estou feliz por estrar de volta, me movendo e construindo de novo a rotina incerta em uma cidade que ao pouco estou fazendo ser minha, transformando em minha casa.

Esses meses que passei de “férias” no Brasil me ajudaram na construção da minha confiança, tanto artística quanto pessoal. Foi ótimo ver e rever pessoas, lugares e momento tendo a certeza da onde eu venho e do que eu faço parte. Mas entendi como uma visita de despedidas, percebi que na verdade o meu caminho vai além. Tiveram alguns momentos que eu me senti deslocada e não fazendo mais parte, mas tudo bem, é uma despedida e assim como eu mudo as coisas mudam e resta apenas o que importa, nossos sentimentos.

Tenho certeza que esse novo será, para mim, um ano de realizações, fechamentos e reinícios. Estou me propondo a ler mais, estudar mais, encerrar meus laços acadêmicos com o brasil terminando até julho a minha dissertação de mestrado em São Paulo terminando de editar o filme projeto Marte e efetivamente construir a minha vida na Europa. 

Nesse tempo que passei em casa percebi melhor a minha relação com os elementos naturais, que sempre foram muito presentes no meu trabalho artístico. Eu cresci na frente de uma represa, no meio de uma cidade infestada por prédios e é desse contato direto com a natureza e a água que o meus ser foi se construindo. Talvez seja o momento de eu prestar mais atenção e fazer disso a minha pesquisa artística. A Luz e A Água.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

