Taking Risks

English:

I often ponder and realize that I deal with my artistic career in a light, amateurish way. I know that I want to follow this path and build a career with it, becoming a professional artist, but it seems that a part of me is still afraid of really exposing myself, of putting myself in this place as an “artist” (which comes with great responsibilities, insecurities, and pressure). I think I can relate this thinking with my fears of changes and growth. Now that I’m 27, I have been through many things, with traumas, wrinkles, and white hair, I still don’t feel that I grew up, I feel that I still play with life, with choices, with work. But will it ever change? Will I ever feel consistent with my actual age? Or feel completely ready and ready for life?

Maybe not, maybe I’ll never feel completely safe and finished, maybe this is my life: a constant process …

And why not try to value that person under construction that I hope will never cease to be? Why do I crave a future that may never come, instead of valuing the mutating present I live?

Some time ago I watched a short documentary by William Kentridge that touched me deeply, he said that his works were a representation of processes, he produced his videos in the same way that wrote an article, in an active research. He thinks, reflects and changes as he produces, he never starts something with the finished image in his head, for him what is important and interesting is the artistic doing, the process, and the surprise.

Then why not think about my work and my “Self” in this way? Valuing this moment of experimentation and being proud of the work as a process.

This all led me to this moment when I created the courage to present these experiments as art and to present myself as an artist, enrolling for the 20th edition of Video Brasil, a great and celebrated contemporary art festival that takes place in São Paulo-Brazil. I have no big pretensions to be accepted, but just the act of starting to introduce myself outside the academic world and enrolling in the festival as an artist- who has a body of work and a personal voice- was important to my artistic and personal development.

captura-de-tela-2016-11-28-as-19-02-32captura-de-tela-2016-11-28-as-19-02-12

These are the frames of the videos that I send to the festival.

Portugues

Muitas vezes me questiono e percebo que eu lido com minha carreira artística de uma forma leviana, amadora. Sei que quero seguir para essa linha e construir uma carreira com isso, me profissionalizar, mas parece que uma parte de mim ainda tem medo de realmente me expor, de me colocar nesse lugar de “artista” que vem com grandes responsabilidades, inseguranças e pressão. Acho que posso relacionar esse pensamento com meus medos em relação a mudanças e em crescer. Hoje com 27 anos, já tendo passado por muitas coisas, tendo traumas, rugas e cabelos brancos, ainda não me sinto adulta, sinto que ainda brinco com a vida, com as escolhas, com o trabalho.  Mas será que algum dia isso vai mudar? Algum dia vou me sentir condizente com a minha idade real?  Ou vou me sentir complemente pronta e preparada para a vida? 

Talvez não, talvez nunca me sinta completamente segura e terminada, talvez essa seja a minha vida: o constante processo….

E porque não tentar valorizar essa pessoa em construção que eu espero nunca deixar de ser? Porque almejo um futuro que talvez nunca chegue ao invés de valorizar o presente em mutação que eu vivo? 

A algum tempo atrás assisti um breve documentário do William Kentridge que me tocou muito, falava que suas obras eram representação de processos que ele produzia seus vídeos como escrevia um artigo, uma pesquisa ativa.  Ele pensa reflete e muda enquanto produz, nunca inicia algo com a imagem pronta do resultado na cabeça, para ele o importante e o interessante é o fazer artístico, o processo e a surpresa.

Porque não então pensar no meu trabalho e no meu “eu” dessa forma? Valorizar esse momento de experimentação e ter orgulho do trabalho como processo. 

Isso tudo me levou a esse momento, criando coragem de apresentar esses experimentos como arte e de me apresentar como artista me inscrevi na 20º edição do Vídeo Brasil, um grande e consagrado festival de arte contemporânea que acontece em São Paulo- Brasil. Não tenho pretensões grandes de entrar, mas  só de começar a me apresentar fora do mundo académico e me inscrever no festival como uma artista que tem um corpo de trabalho e uma voz foi importante para meu desenvolvimento artístico e pessoal.

Leave a Reply

