Azul #2

English: 

With the opportunity to create a new work, presenting it at the Raum Gallery’s Pop-Up Show together with my Master colleagues, I continued my research regarding projection, light, and images. At first, I would like the work to be an installation, with the image modified by the water through the mirror before the eyes of the observer.

Several factors led me to present the work with two single-channel videos, one of them was the issue of using water because, as a natural element, it demands, among other things, flow and maintenance. But besides this, I chose to present it in this way because I understood that the work was part of an action, I needed my body to be present on the scene, getting involved with the work. Unfortunately, I could not be present in the opening, so I was present as aura within the “record”.

With the wonderful help of Alexandre Szolnoky (Alê), we spent a cold Friday afternoon in the studio understanding what the work was and how to best execute the idea. We created a gimmick to position the two cameras used, one recorded an “open” action effect plan and the other closed only in the projected image. What was filmed was the reflection of the mirror on the white wall, and how it changed according to the insertion of the natural element (water).

Português: 

Com a oportunidade criar um novo trabalho, para apresentar no Pop-Up Show da Raum Gallery junto com meus colegas de mestrado, eu continuei minhas pesquisas referentes a projeção, luz e imagens. A princípio eu gostaria que o trabalho fosse uma instalação, com a imagem modificada pela água através do espelho diante dos olhos do observador.

Vários fatores me levaram a apresentar o trabalho com dois vídeos single channel, um deles foi o fato da utilização da água, que como um elemento natural demanda, entre outras coisas, vazão e manutenção. Mas, além disso, optei por apresentar desta forma por entender que o trabalho fazia parte de uma ação, necessitava o meu corpo presente em cena, me envolvendo com o trabalho, como infelizmente não consegui estar de corpo presente na abertura, eu estava de aura com o “registro”.

Com a maravilhosa ajuda do Alêxandre Szolnoky (Alê) ficamos uma tarde de sexta-feira fria no estúdio entendendo o que era o trabalho e como executar da melhor forma a ideia. Criamos uma gambiarra para posicionar as duas câmeras usadas, uma registrado um plano “aberto” do efeito da ação e a outra fechada apenas na imagem projetada. O que foi filmado foi o reflexo do espelho na parede branca, e como ele se alterava de acordo com a inserção de um elemento natural (a água).

img_7409

IMG_7428.jpg

Even though I have done some experiments with water and light, I am always surprised by the result. I was moved by the image of light that “leaks” from the limits of the image and transforms a figurative image into something abstract, fluid as if with the contact with pure nature the image/light / projection was released. At that moment the light ceases to be conditioned in the narrative dictated/imposed by the projection and by the moving image and it naturally becomes the constructor of a new narrative.

I have to admit, it was at the time of doing that I understood the potential of work as a performance and the need of my present body to add water and encourage all of its own uncontrolled narrative potential. I saw my role, my body as a tool that releases and lets the material have its own course.

Mesmo já tendo feito algumas experiências com a água e a luz, sempre me surpreendo com a resultado, me emocionei com a imagem da luz que “vaza” dos limites da imagem e transforma uma imagem figurativa em algo abstrato, fluido, como se com o contato com a natureza pura a imagem/luz/projeção se libertasse. Naquele momento a luz deixa de ser condicionada a narrativa ditada/imposta pela projeção, pela imagem em movimento e ela naturalmente se torna construtora de uma nova narrativa.

Tenho que admitir, foi no momento do fazer que entendi o potencial do trabalho como performance e a necessidade do meu corpo presente para adicionar a agua e incentivar todo o seu potencial narrativo próprio, descontrolado. Vi o meu papel, o meu corpo como uma ferramenta que libera e deixa o material ter um rumo próprio.

Captura de Tela 2016-12-21 às 20.46.43.png

Captura de Tela 2016-12-21 às 20.47.30.png

Well, the opening of the brief exhibition took place on November 16, 2016 at 5:00 p.m. At this very hour, I was trying to sleep on a tight plane and getting ready to go home. I left my work mounted a few days before, projected the image of the camera closed on the ceiling of the studio, like a window from one universe to another (or maybe the same), sky. Sharing a little of the place I grew up with the space that I live in now. I also left the video of the “open” image displayed on a monitor, presenting the “screen break” and the free light that danced independent of the image.

Bom, a abertura da breve exposição aconteceu no dia 16.novembro 2016, as 17h. Neste mesmo horário eu estava tentando dormir em um avião apertado e me preparando para voltar para casa. Deixei meu trabalho montado alguns dias antes, projetei a imagem da câmera fechada no teto do estúdio, como uma janela para um outro universo para um outro, ou o mesmo, céu. Dividindo um pouco do lugar aonde eu cresci para o espaço em que vivo agora. Deixei também o vídeo da imagem “aberta” exposto em um monitor, apresentando a “quebra da tela” e a luz livre que dança independente da imagem.

 

 

IMG_7608.jpg

So far I have not had any feedback if my work has worked, or anyone’s reaction to it, but it`s okay, I understand this work as the beginning of a process, and the inspiration to continue exploring this universe.

My next step here in Brazil, still this year of 2016 is to present this work elsewhere, as a performance.

The “experiência AZUL#2”

Até este momento não tive nenhum feedback se meu trabalho deu certo, ou a reação de qualquer pessoa sobre ele, mas tudo bem, porque para mim entendo esse trabalho como o inicio de um processo, e a inspiração para continuar explorando este universo.

Meu próximo passo aqui no Brasil, ainda este ano de 2016 é apresentar este trabalho em outro lugar, desta fez em formato de performance.

A experiência AZUL#2

Leave a Reply

