Blind self-portrait #4

English: (Draft) 

Drawings between days 17.10-14.11.2016

From day 17.10, when doing the drawing number 29 I began not to look only at the lines of my face, but also at the light that marked it at the moment. Continuing the technique of the blind drawing I introduced the yellow color and marked in the drawing the points more clearly. At first, I chose to perceive the light because in the midst of the challenge of a blind self-portrait a day I felt I was losing the connection with the pictures, because what was once an almost meditative moment had become a task, an obligation. When I chose to begin to see beyond my own face and my own marks and to perceive how the environment also influences me, I resumed the desire to continue and finish the notebook. Aesthetically, the result of the overlap was very interesting, I thought it brought an “aura”, a depth for the drawing. Analyzed more psychologically I can perceive that my surroundings influence me more than I imagined.

Português:

Desenhos feitos entre os dias 17.10 e 14.11 de 2016

A partir do dia 17.10 no desenho numero 29 eu comecei a não olhar apenas para as linhas do meu rosto, mas também para a luz que o marcava no momento. Continuando a técnica do desenho cego eu introduzi a cor amarela e marquei no desenho os pontos mais claros. A principio optei por perceber a luz pois no meio do desafio de um autorretrato cego por dia estava perdendo a conexão com o trabalho, o que antes era um momento quase meditativo tinha se tornado uma tarefa, uma obrigação. Quando optei por começar a enxergar além do meu próprio rosto e das minhas próprias marcas e perceber como o ambiente também me influencia, retomei a vontade de continuar e terminar o caderno. Esteticamente, o resultado da sobreposição ficou muito interessante, achei que trouxe uma “aura”, uma profundidade para o desenho. Analisado mais psicologicamente posso perceber que o meu entorno me influência mais do que eu imaginava. 

 

I started this challenge on 20.09.2016, the last one I did was on 14.11.2016, in total, there were 57 drawings, on average 3 minutes each, made during the first quarter of the UAL master’s degree in London.

Comecei este desafio no dia 20.09.2016, o último que fiz foi no dia 14.11.2016, no total foram 57 desenhos, de na média 3 minutos cada, realizados  no período do primeiro trimestre do mestrado da UAL em Londres.

Evidently, a slight ripening occurred from the first to the last self-portrait, I feel in the latter ones a more mature trace,  communicating directly.

Evidente que aconteceu um leve amadurecimento do primeiro para o ultimo autorretrato, sinto no último um traço mais seguro, comunicando diretamente. 

 

Today, I perceive these drawings as the beginning of an in-depth and more caring look for myself, and for my work, making me realize and value my own voice as an artist, as a researcher, and as a person. I feel that the project of doing a drawing a day, for the time being is over, but I intend to retake the blind self-portrait in other contexts, maybe expanding it to a full-size, real-size drawing and not just face, or challenge myself to stay 1 hour in one Drawing alone, analyzing and understanding each trace.

Hoje, percebo esses desenhos como inicio de um olhar aprofundado e mais carinhoso para mim mesmo, para o meu trabalho me fazendo perceber e valorizar a minha voz própria como artista, como pesquisadora e como pessoa. Sinto que o projeto de fazer um desenho por dia por enquanto acabou, mas pretendo retomar o autorretrato cego em outros contextos, talvez expandir para um desenho de corpo inteiro e tamanho real e não apenas do rosto, ou me desafiar a ficar 1 hora em um desenho só, analisando e entendendo cada traço. 

I do not know yet how these drawings relate to my artistic research, but I’m sure they are part of my process of self-knowledge.

Não sei ainda como esses desenhos se relacionam com a minha pesquisa artística, mas tenho certeza que eles fazem parte do meu processo de autoconhecimento. 

Leave a Reply

