Tracks and Reminiscence #1

English:

It’s funny how lately it’s been more difficult to organize my thoughts, to  sit down and write in here. I feel my heart tighter, it seems that sometimes I indulge myself in anxiety for future, an anxiety of returning to Brazil in few weeks and making plans for a month or a year- it’s  hard to connect with now. I’m writing this text, sitting at the bottom of a yellowed tree, feeling the cold and the autumn sun, there are insects on the soil and the people around me do not hurt me, now I just want to feel this.

I’m not cold nor hot, I feel a light autumn breeze blowing, I can see the sun through the trees slowly setting down the horizon, I see the sun shining on the lawn which is in front of me, I see a small dandelion intact, waiting for a gust of wind to spread it’s seeds. Two black birds with white chests demand the food close to me,  they are big, beautiful and have small blue sparkles on their tail. The leaves around me have many earthly color tones. Most of the trees still have  their leaves, but they are in a beautiful shade of yellow that contrasts with the blue of the sky. Yellow was the favorite color of my grandfather.

This introduction may seem disconnected with the subject of this post, but for me it makes sense. Last Friday I created courage and began to experiment putting my thoughts into practice, questionings from the last two months here in this course. I am in the process of admitting that my work and my artistic poetics (at least at this time) are personal. Not trying to be something other than what I am and maybe how to be proud of my own voice.

In my plays this Friday I started from my willingness to experiment with reflections in mirrors and water, feeling where this material would take me. I’d almost unconsciously selected some images which might work, one of them was the video Bleu# 1, a work from in 2015 with the proposal to be another way to look at the pathways that I take since my childhood. The trees and the sky in the videos are from my neighborhood in São Paulo, Brazil. The trees that are there are the same as when I was born, we can say that they grew sprouted before I was born, and grew up with me. So those treetops, and these leafs witnessed my life.

This work was made in honor of my grandfather, at that time it was a year after his death.

In this way,  I projected the video BLUE # 1 on the ceiling of our studio, feeling that I found the way, re-signifying these typically Brazilian Atlantic Forest trees that grew with me in a new context, in a new continent In this way they would bare witnesses of my new present time, when I present myself as an artist.

trat_img_7201

 

The # 1 BLUE video images have some effects,small glitches, that represent the time the memories will fade over time, representing my grandfather. 

When I saw the projected image I got very interested in the physical traces left by them, the sparkles, the amorphous textures, as if the image itself didn’t matter, only the memory, that as time goes by becoming traces and sensations.

trat_img_7203

Following this experiment, I did what I had thought from the beginning: mirrors on the floor, projector from above and the reflection of dismembered images on the ceiling. In addition to the pure image, I  introduced water, which brought the power of a natural element to the  moment. As if I was washing the memories, washing objects, bringing  brightness and a new perception. I understand that the images of the trees of my house no longer need the “glitch” effect: the water, an  uncontrollable element, now does this job. It brings the trail and fluidity that the memories and forgetfulness symbolize.

trat_img_7246

I still have some problems to solve, I would like to build a mechanism for the mirrors with some movement, for the water slowly fall. But for the pop-up show in a few weeks from now, it would be impossible to accomplish it with the quality that I would like to present.

Visiting the William Kentridge exhibition at Whitechapel Gallery I came across The Sentimental Machine (2015), and the images that he produced for the installation, with objects immersed in water.

Maybe this is my solution, the best option for this project will be to  record the performance in full HD and project it with mirrors, (preferably in slow motion), and project this image in the mirrors of the  small exhibition. The Water will be digital.

I will make these experiences next Friday, and perhaps I could  hopefully redo this work in a different way next time. 

 img_7300

Now the yellow sun this setting between the trees. I had a dream with my grandfather tonight.

Português

Engraçado como ultimamente estou com mais dificuldade de organizar meus pensamentos, sentar e escrever aqui. Estou sentindo o coração mais apertado, parece que as vezes me deixo levar pela ansiedade do futuro, pela ansiedade de estar voltando para o Brasil em poucas semanas e fazendo planos para daqui um mês, um ano, com dificuldade de me conectar com o agora. Escrevendo esse texto, estou sentada na grama de baixo de uma árvore amarela, sentido o frio e o sol do outono, os insetos o chão e as pessoas as meu redor não me atrapalham, agora eu só quero me sentir presente. 

Não estou com frio nem com calor, começou a bater uma leve brisa outonal, consigo ver o sol por entre as arvores lentamente descendo para o horizonte, vejo o brilho do sol no gramado que está a minha frente, vejo um pequeno dente de leão intacto aguardado por uma rajada de vento para se desfazer.  Dois pássaros pretos de peito branco de aproximam a procura de alimento, são grandes, bonitos e tem pequenos brilhos azuis na calda. A folha ao meu redor tem vários tons terrosos. A maioria das árvores ainda tem folhas, mas estão em um tom lindo de amarelo que contrasta com o azul do céu. Amarelo era a cor preferida do meu avô.

Essa introdução talvez pareça desconectada com o assunto desse post, mas para mim faz todo o sentido. Na última sexta feira eu criei coragem e comecei a experimentar na pratica meus pensamentos, questionamentos dos últimos 2 meses aqui no curso. Estou no processo de admitir que meu trabalho e minha poética artística (pelo menos nesse momento) são pessoais. Tentando não ser algo além do que eu sou e quem sabe começar a me orgulhar dessa voz.

Nas minhas brincadeiras de sexta eu parti da vontade de experimentar com reflexos em espelhos e água, sentindo aonde esse material iria me levar. Quase que inconscientemente separei algumas imagens que poderiam funcionar, uma delas foi o vídeo Azul #1, um trabalho que fiz em 2015 com a proposta de ser uma outra forma de olhar para os caminhos que faço desde criança.  As árvores dos vídeos e o céu são do meu bairro em São Paulo, no Brasil.  As arvores que estão lá são as mesmas de quando eu nasci, podemos dizer que elas vieram bem antes de eu nascer, e cresceram junto comigo. Então essas copas, essas folhas foram testemunhas da minha vida.

Esse trabalho fiz em homenagem ao meu avô, na época fazia um ano do seu falecimento. 

Assim que projetei o vídeo AZUL #1 no teto do nosso estúdio senti que era esse o caminho, resignificar aquelas árvores tipicamente brasileiras da Mata Atlântica que cresceram comigo em um novo contexto, um novo continente, elas novamente sendo de uma forma testemunhas de um novo presente, me apresentando como uma artista.

As imagens do vídeo AZUL #1 trazem alguns efeitos, pequenos glitch que representariam na época as memórias que vão se apagando com o passar do tempo, representariam o meu avô. 

Quando vi a imagem projetada me interessei muito pelos rastros físicos delas, os brilhos, as texturas amórficas, como se a imagem não fosse o que importasse, mas sim uma memória, quem com o tempo vai se tornando rastro, imagens, sensações.

Seguido deste experimento executei o que tinha pensado desde o início, espelhos no chão, projetor apino e o reflexo desmembrado das imagens do teto. Além da imagem pura, introduzi a água, que trouxe a potencia de um elemento natural para o momento.  Como se lavasse as memórias, lavasse os objetos, trouxesse brilhos e uma nova percepção. Entendo que as imagens das árvores da minha casa não precisam mais do efeito “glitch” a água, o elemento incontrolável, agora faz esse trabalho. Traz o rastro e a fluidez que as memórias e o esquecimento simbolizam.

Ainda tenho alguns problemas para resolver, gostaria de construir um mecanismo que os espelhos tivessem algum movimento e que a água fosse caindo lentamente. Mas para o pop up show daqui poucas semanas ficaria impossível de realizar com a qualidade que eu gostaria.

Visitando a exposição do Willian Kentridge na Galeria Whitechaple me deparei com O Sentimental Machine (2015), e as imagens que ele produziu  para a instalação com objetos imersos em água.

Talvez essa seja a minha solução, a melhor opção para esse projeto será gravar a performance com full HD da projeção com os espelhos, de preferência em slow motion, e projetar essa imagem nos espelhos da pequena exposição. A Agua será digital.

Farei essas experiências na próxima sexta feira. E quem sabe não consigo remontar essa obra de uma outra forma na próxima oportunidade. 

Agora o sol amarelo esta se ponto entre as arvores. Sonhei com meu avô essa noite. 

Leave a Reply

