Lecture: Paul Coldwell

English: 

 

Unfortunately I wasn’t  present at the incredible class that the artist / researcher Paul Coldwell gave, so I watched a similar youtube lecture that happened one year prior to the course. After talking with some colleagues I already had an idea about the issues addressed by him in his work however, it was amazing to hear the detailed explanations in his own voice.

He started the lecture by saying that as an artist he also works with his own his questions about his insecurity and anxiety. His work is in its vast majority made of small worldly objects from everyday life, objects that stay with us and we build a relationship with them. When they ‘die’ they are placed in a black box, and he likes to build different stories to the objects. In this way he looks at the different aspects of a person’s journey.

When making a picture he is not the kind of artist who sits in front of the observed and makes a realistic painting, he would look into the observed pockets for what the person is carrying, so in manner he can show us how objects can represent one person.

The artist maps the relationship with objects or builds new objects that may represent the presence or the absence of them. What we carry represents what we went through and in a way it brings us back to those times.

Thinking in this way, my first question about this subject was about the video I was watching, a video recorded one year ago that in general addressed the same issues than this year’s. The video was recorded in the same school room, and it’s very likely that the same teachers were there watching it. Even though this video is digital, became a memory object to me, bringing with it sounds and textures, becoming  an object with its own life. As I created a relationship with it a year later, it was almost a journey through time, reliving something that I never lived.

 

img_7095img_7094

The second question was inspired by the objects that Paul Coldwell presented. When I looked fondly at the objects that were around me I came across a piece of pen that had just finished. A bic pen, worldly who accompanied me in this first month, which was the record channel of all my thoughts and studies and also my marks, my anxiety, my anguish, my obsession, my madness. 

Today, it represents me.

Today it is me. 

Self-Portrait

 

Português:

Infelizmente não conseguir estar presente na aula incrível que o artista/pesquisador Paul Coldwell então acompanhei pelo youtube uma palestra semelhante que ele deu um ano antes para o curso. Depois de conversar com alguns colegas já tinha uma ideia dos assuntos abordados por ele no trabalho, mas foi incrível ouvir as explicações detalhadas pela própria voz dele.  

Ele começou a palestra dizendo que como artista ele também trabalha com as próprias questões dele, a respeito da suas insegurança e ansiedades. O seu trabalho é na grande maioria sobre os pequenos objetos mundanos do nosso cotidiano, objetos cotidianos que nos acompanha e nos construímos uma relação com eles e que quando morremos eles vão para uma caixa preta, ele gosta de construir diferentes historias para os objetos. Ele olha os diferentes aspectos da jornada de uma pessoa.

Se fosse fazer um retrato ele não é o tipo de artista que senta na frente do observado e fazer uma pintura realista, e sim alguém que iria nos bolsos e procuraria o que o observado carrega com ele, como os objetos podem representar as pessoas

O artista mapeia relação com os objetos ou constrói novos objetos que representam a presença ou a ausência deles. O que carregamos representa o que passamos e de um certo modo nos leva de volta para aqueles momentos.

Pensando nesse sentido, a minha primeira questão sobre o assunto foi a respeito do vídeo que eu estava vendo, um vídeo gravado a 1 ano atrás, que no geral abordou os mesmos assuntos do que nesse ano. O vídeo foi gravado na mesma sala da escola, muito provável que os mesmos professores estavam lá assistindo. Mesmo sendo digital esse vídeo para mim também se tornou um objeto de memoria, trouxe com ele sons e texturas se transformando em um objeto com uma vida própria, e eu criei uma relação com ele um ano depois, foi quase uma viagem no tempo, revivendo algo que eu nunca vivi.

A segunda questão foi inspirada pelos objetos que Paul Coldwell apresentou quando olhei com carinho para os objetos que estavam ao meu redor e  me deparei com um pedaço de caneta que tinha acabado de acabar. Uma caneta bic, mundana que me acompanhou nesse primeiro mês, que foi o canal de registro de todos os meus pensamentos e estudos e também das minhas marcas, da minha ansiedade, das minhas angustias, da minha obsessão, da minha loucura.

Hoje ela me representa.

Leave a Reply

