Group Crit #1

English:

Your work is to make your work

In this Tuesday, at the regular time of our traditional meeting we did a different dynamic- we had the first opportunity to present our case and our embryonic ideas to colleagues, with an exchange of experiences and references. I think I’m in the process of getting comfortable with the exposure and trying to present my ideas in a simpler and cohesive way, but I still have a lot to improve in this regard. I still get very nervous and insecure about the work in progress.

I feel sometimes so anxious about the world that I push myself for still be experimenting with different  languages, I push myself for spending time and not producing like I should be producing, I push myself for not being financially successful, and I push myself to stop pushing myself like this. And my artwork is is in the opposite direction, it is as if it spontaneously presents itself as a reaction to all this, it’s like a moment to say STOP a moment and say NO, to just feel, look, and be in the present, actively in the body, thinking.

I find myself still frustrated, questioning what I’m doing and if this is the right place for so many personal outpourings. That was a question I asked the group: if they thought there existed art that wasn’t  directly linked to the personal life of the person who did it. Is there art separated from living? Few people positioned themselves, but we came to the conclusion that there isn’t, because even if the issues were more politically or ecologically oriented they would still part of the artist’s environment, touching the artist deeply to the point that he needs to produce something about it.

 

Sometimes I’m afraid of not being relevant, that my art is something  superfluous.  If the lack of a political positioning is something that makes me so frustrated and afraid, why not adopt contemplation and living in the present moment as a political positioning? Just like the Urban Sketchers who have habit of stopping in groups to draw on the street in urban contexts as a political-artistic stance. But I can not forget to keep questioning myself, building up and understanding the context that I am inserted as an artist and as an individual.

If I want my art to transform someone it  has to change myself first.

I found it interesting that meeting that even though we are all different, with different languages and cultures, many of us have very similar desires, anxieties and themes. It seems to me that the  artworks and thinkings are somehow related.

Some references that colleagues introduced in the conversation:

Pae White:

33.jpg

Duchamp :mile of string’

821ef00a4ab796c17346deadaf0da36f.jpg

Nikolaus Gansterer: Diagram Performance

Nikolaus-Gansterer_Nietzsche-Diagrams-2015_w08.jpg

Mark Bradford: Maps

mark-bradford.jpg

 Yervant gianikian & Angela Ricci Lucchi: Du Pôle à L’Equateur (1986)

Song Dong: Waste Not – about memory 1097-276-4. Song Dong_Waste Not_Barbican.JPG 

Cai Guo-Qiang :power of distroy

2013_pdv_rio_carnivalrehearsal_installation_jf_a3465_003_ltr.jpg

These are the videos that I produced so far with these questionings, the video is the tool that I feel more comfortable with, and I still want to experiment with things beyond the flat surface of the screen. Perhaps a way to get the best structure of my work is from mind maps, I’ll experiment with them to help with my methodology.

And the goal is to read and  understand the Light Art Book  and some articles on the way we look (to return to Brazil)

 

Português:

Nesta Terça-Feira, no horário normal do nosso tradicional recontro fizemos uma dinâmica deferente, tivemos a primeira oportunidade de apresentar nosso processo e nossas ideias embrionárias para os colegas, realizando uma troca de experiências e referencias. Acho que estou no processo de ficar confortável com a exposição e de tentar apresentar as minhas ideias de uma forma mais simples e coesa, mas ainda tenho muito o que aprimorar neste sentido. Ainda fico muito nervosa e insegura com trabalho em andamento.

Me sinto as vezes tão ansiosa com o mundo, me cobro por ainda estar experimentando linguagens, me cobro por estar passando o tempo e não produzindo como eu deveria produzir, me cobro por ainda não ser bem-sucedida financeiramente, me cobro por me cobrar sobre isso. E o meu trabalho estar está no sentido oposto , é como se ele se apresentasse espontaneamente como uma reação a tudo isso, um momento de dizer PARA, um momento de dizer NÃO e apenas sentir, contemplar, estar presente no momento e no corpo, ativo e pensando.

Ainda me pego frustrada questionando sobre o que estou fazendo e se esse é o lugar certo para tantos desabafos pessoais. Essa foi uma pergunta que fiz ao grupo, se eles achavam que existia artistas e arte que não eram diretamente ligadas a vida pessoal da pessoa que fazia, existe arte separada de vida? Poucas pessoas se posicionaram, mas chegamos a conclusão que não, pois mesmo que os assuntos sejam mais políticos ou ambientais eles fazem parte do ambiente do artista, tocam o artista profundamente ao ponto de ele ter que produzir algo a respeito.

As vezes tenho medo de não ser relevante e que a minha arte seja algo supérfluo, mas se a falta de um posicionamento politico é algo que me deixa tão frustrada e com medo porque não adotar a contemplação e a vivencia do momento ele próprio como um posicionamento politico. Assim como os Urban Sketchers que adoram o costume de parar em grupos e desenhar no meio da rua em contextos urbanos como um posicionamento políticos-artístico. Mas não posso esquecer de continuar me questionando, construindo e entendendo o contexto que eu estou inserida como artista e como pessoa.

Se quero que a minha arte transforme alguém acho que ela tem eu me transformar primeiro.

Achei interessante nesse encontro que mesmo sendo pessoas diferentes, línguas e culturas diferentes muitos de nos temos anseios, angustias e temáticas muito parecidas. Parecem que os trabalhos e os pensamentos estão de alguma forma relacionados

Esse é o conjunto de vídeos que produzi até agora com esses questionamentos, o vídeo é a ferramenta que me sinto mais confortável, ainda quero experimentar com coisas além da superficial plana da tela. Talvez uma forma de começar a estruturar melhor meu trabalho seja a partir de mapas mentais, vou experimentar com eles para ajudar na minha metodologia.

E como meta tenho que ler/entender  o Livro de Light Art e alguns artigos sobre formas de olhar ( até a volta para o Brasil )  

Leave a Reply

