Autumn

English:

Am I doing it right thing exposing my real anguish and my personal life here on this site? When I compare myself with others I get a little afraid that this site is becoming more like a personal diary than an artistic record.

Since I began to identify myself as an artist I am aware that my artwork is linked with myself, my intimate and personal realms; with my microcosm of thoughts and experiences. I’m a little afraid to treat this moment as a moment of self-knowledge, without going deeper. Although I always produce things, I think and try new forms to convey my vision, I’m always wondering if this is relevant to the others, if my voice is important and says something. But am I obliged to speak to someone? Or perhaps it’s alright at that moment to just talk about myself?

I started thinking about this when I was on the bus coming home, it was raining and I did this video. Sometimes I find it hard to feel comfortable somewhere, sometimes find it hard to feel comfortable in my own body, sometimes just want to leave myself and contemplate the other.

I studied a lot about the contemporary and the transition from the big and epic narratives to micro-narratives, yet I question the long term relevance of this.

Which artists can really make art that isn’t personal?

 

Português:

Será que estou fazendo certo de expor minhas angustias reais e minha vida pessoal aqui no site? Me comparando com os outros fico com um pouco de medo que esse site esteja se tornando mais um diário pessoal, do que um registro artístico.

Desde que eu comecei a me identificar como artista tenho ciência que meu trabalho artístico está atrelado a minha pessoa, ao meu intimo e pessoal, ao meu microcosmo de pensamentos e experiências. Tenho um pouco de medo de tratar esse momento como um momento de autoconhecimento e sem aprofundamento. Apesar de sempre produzir coisas, pensar e tentar formas de transmitir meu jeito de olhar fico me questionando o quanto isso é relevante para os outros, o quanto a minha voz é importante e fala para alguém. Mas será que eu sou obrigada a falar para alguém? Ou talvez tudo bem nesse momento eu falar apenas comigo?

Comecei a pensar sobre isso quando estava no ônibus voltando para casa, estava chovendo e fiz esse vídeo. As vezes eu acho difícil me sentir confortável em algum lugar, as vezes acho difícil me sentir confortável no meu próprio corpo, as vezes só quero sair de mim e contemplar o outro.

Eu estudei bastante a respeito do contemporâneo e da mudança das grandes narrativas para micronarrativas, mas mesmo assim que questiono a relevância disso a logo prazo. Quais artistas realmente conseguem fazer arte que não seja pessoal? 

 

Leave a Reply

