Blind self-portrait #3

 

English:

Drawings between days 03.10-16.10.2016

Here is another batch of blind self-portraits. I have to admit that these drawings have left me a little frustrated. The drawings were done in the average time of 1 minute and 30 seconds, in which I empty my mind- I feel that I am not able to concentrate more than that. I thought that over time I would have a better connection to myself in this process, but in the midst of so many daily chores my mind is restless and I feel that in the last days I couldn’t be present all time so that in two drawing I  forgot to make the right eye. I experimented with different materials, thinking it would make me more comfortable with the result, but it didn’t help much. To be present and focused is a great challenge to me and it’s a training that I have to keep doing.

Português:

Desenhos feitos entre os dias 03.10-16.10.2016

Aqui segue mais uma leva de autorretratos cegos, tenho que admitir que estes desenhos me deixaram meio frustrada.  Os desenhos estão com a média de tempo de 1 minuto e 30, o que acho pouco e sinto que não estou conseguindo me concentrar mais do que isso. Achei que com o passar do tempo estaria com uma conexão melhor comigo mesma nesses processos, mas no meio de tantos afazeres minha mente esta inquieta e sinto que nos últimos dias não consegui estar presente no momento, tanto que em 2 desenhos esqueci de fazer o olho direito. Experimentei com diferentes materiais achando que ficaria mais confortável com o resultado, mas não ajudou muito. Estar presente e concertada é um desafio para mim e um treino que tenho que continuar exercitando. 

Because of  to the Liverpool trip between days 12th and 16th October I could not do one drawing  per day, so on the night of the 16th , I proposed to myself to do the four drawings  below and see it as a whole. The time without doing this exercise was important to me, and I could see things on my face, like small marks and spots that were previously unnoticed. But at the same time, I still felt that my mind is lost in other thoughts while performing the action.

Devido a viagem de Liverpool entre os dias 12-16 de outubro não consegui fazer um por dia, então na noite do dia 16 me propus a fazer 4 desenhos em seguida e ver o conjunto. O tempo sem realizar o exercício foi importante, consegui ver coisas no meu rosto, com pequenas marcar e pintas que antes estavam desapercebidas. Mas ao mesmo tempo ainda senti que minha mente se perdeu em outros pensamentos enquanto realizava a ação.

 

I have the habit of abandon things that do not bring me new challenges or instant rewards, but this time I will insist this process. Perhaps now it would be interesting to try to go beyond the features and shapes of my face and evolve to  show light and face brightness, maybe it will take me to other paths being a strategy to be present at the time.

Eu tenho o costume de abandonar coisas que não me trazem novos desafios ou que não me trazem recompensas instantâneas, mas dessa vez vou insistir neste processo. Talvez agora, seja interessante tentar ir além dos traços e das formas e evoluir para luz e o brilho do rosto, talvez isso me leve para outros caminhos e seja uma estratégia para estar presente no momento. 

Leave a Reply

