Sharing

English: 

Once again I came across in a situation that made me think about the importance of exchanges and physical connections between people. On Saturday I and Ale we set off on an adventure to Woking at The Lightbox for the release of his comic book (Buddha Boy) in the graphic art fair Comiket of independent publications.

Comic books are not necessarily my field of research, but I believe that sometimes you need to leave the comfort and research area to make room for new ideas and reflections. I can not say that the fair was extremely financially rewarding but can rather say that it was a flourishing space for people, contacts, exchanges, ideas, and conversations. For me, these cultural exchanges involving art have become increasingly valuable, and it was great to have a protected space to show, talk and see work. I’m sure that supports, partnerships, and friendships were built that day.

A certain time of the fair a girl of 10 years, Jasmine, arrived at our table and began to see the work of Alê, very delighted with the designs of the fantastic universes. Her mother soon came, she was about 30 years old seemed to be very proud of his daughter, saying that she drew and was very creative. After few minutes of conversation she blurted out to us that in school art teachers would not let the children express freely, they said what was right and what was wrong in terms of technical and verisimilitude. We realized that Jasmine was a girl who saw the design and artistic work quietly as a toy and as an attempt of expression, but it had a bit of fear created by the school repression. When she was enchanted by imaginary surrealistic landscapes we realized that she identified and who saw in art more than right and wrong, beautiful and finished but it is a place of free ride. Jasmine with her 10 years is just like to Vic with 27, just a kid looking for ways to find their voice. With a smile, she left our table with a drawing in hand and I’m sure she will continue to express herself naturally.

As we tried to inspire her in few words to continue experimenting and searching for her own voice, she also inspired me to try to break the strengthened ties that were built over the years,  venturing myself on this free path, which is the right one. With courage to expose myself and express myself – with my heart. (in Portuguese  the word courage is derived from the word heart)

14556666_1088975601217178_6704504236599898607_o.jpg

14567567_1088975521217186_652143581794879414_o.jpg

Português: 

Mais uma vez me deparei em uma situação que me fez refletir a respeito da importância de trocas e conexões físicas entre pessoas. No sábado eu e o Ale partimos em uma aventura ate Woking no The Lightbox para o lançamento do quadrinho dele (Buddah Boy) na feira de arte gráfica e publicações independentes Comiket.

Histórias em quadrinho não são necessariamente meu campo de pesquisa, mas acredito que as vezes é necessário sair da área de pesquisa e conforto para ter espaço para novas ideias e reflexões. Não posso afirmar que a feira foi extremamente rentável financeiramente mas posso sim afirmar que foi um espaço de florescimento de pessoas, contatos, trocas, ideias e conversas. Para mim essas trocas culturais que envolvem a arte têm se tornado cada vez mais valiosas, e foi ótimo ter um espaço protegido para mostrar, conversar e ver trabalhos. Tenho certeza que apoios, parcerias e amizades se construíram nesse dia. 

Um certo momento da feira uma menina de 10 anos, Jasmine, chegou na nossa mesa e começou a ver os trabalhos do Alê, se encantou muito com os desenhos dos universos fantásticos.  Logo chegou a mãe, com mais ou menos 30 anos e parecendo ser muito orgulhosa da filha, dizendo que ela desenhava e era muito criativa, em poucos minutos de conversa ela desabafou conosco que na escola os professores de arte não deixavam que as crianças se expressassem livremente, diziam o que era certo e o que era errado em termos de técnica e verossimilhança. Percebemos que a Jasmine era uma menina que via o desenho e o fazer artístico tranquilamente como um brinquedo e como uma tentativa de expressão, mas que tinha um pouco de medo criado pela repressão escolar. Quando ela se encantou pelas paisagens imaginarias surrealistas percebemos que ela se identificou e que viu na arte mais do que o certo e o errado, o bonito e o feito, mas é um lugar de livre passeio. A Jasmine com seus 10 anos é igual a Vic com 27, apenas uma criança procurando formas de achar sua voz, com um sorriso no rosto ela saiu da nossa mesa com o desenho na mão e tenho certeza que ela vai continuar se expressando da forma que for. 

Assim como eu acho que com poucas palavras nós a inspiramos a continuar experimentando e buscando sua própria voz, ela me inspirou a tentar quebrar minhas amarras por anos construídas e reforçadas e me aventurar nesse caminho livre, que é o caminho certo. Com coragem de me expor e me expressar – Com o coração.

 

Leave a Reply

