Throwing up Art

English:

Frieze Art Fair 

The fun and unpretentious ride in most London Art Fair (The Frieze Art Fair) was much more distressing and oppressive than I imagined. I knew it would not be an easy day of pure contemplation, but in-depth research to find works and galleries that I identified.

I spent about 5 hours in space buried the paintings and sculptures around me, trying to find video, digital art, “strange” art. I thought that in 2016 we would already be a little more in the way of presenting video art and digital art to a gallery environment, but I saw some video, I saw a little performance and only a virtual reality installation.

Unfortunately, if I want to be an artist that goes beyond technological research and want to become a gallery artist I might want to build dialogue strategies with this market universe, perhaps reverse interpreting my work with video or premises in a picture, a photo or a sculpture? It is possible to have a theme and several different applications.

Even try one night stands nauseated in the middle of so many galleries find it very important to see and understand this kind of strictly oriented environment for the market and for the sale of art, as the galleries are presented and present the artists and what profile / behavior of people in this mall where the cheapest object it cost more than 4 digits.

The next fair will do a performance, I dressed and use my Brazilian accent to ask the prices of works and see how I am received by galleries. That way maybe I feel more comfortable in this environment.

Some galleries / artists that I found interesting:

Carroll/ Fletcher 
Antony Gormley 
Jon Rafman
Seventeen 
Mary Mary 
Lorcan o’Neill
VI VII
Chi-Wen Gallery
Yin-Ju Chen
KARIN GUENTHER
Berta Fischer

frieze.jpg

Português: 

O passeio divertido e despretensioso na maior feira de arte de Londres (The Frieze Art Fair) foi muito mais angustiante e opressivo do que eu imaginava. Já sabia que não seria um dia fácil de pura contemplação, mas de profunda pesquisa para achar obras e galerias que eu me identificasse. Passei mais ou menos 5 horas dentro do espaço soterrada pelos quadros e esculturas ao meu redor, tentando achar vídeos, arte digital, arte “estranha”. 

Achei que em 2016 já estaríamos um pouco mais no caminho de apresentar a vídeo arte e a arte digital para um ambiente vendável de galeria, mas vi pouco vídeo, vi pouca performance e apenas uma instalação de realidade virtual. 

Infelizmente se eu quero ser uma artista que vai além das pesquisas tecnológicas e quero me tornar uma artista de galeria talvez seja interessante construir estratégias de dialogo com esse universo de mercado, talvez ré interpretar meu trabalho com vídeo ou com instalações em um quadro, uma foto ou uma escultura? É possível de ter um tema e varias diferente aplicações.  

Mesmo tento ficada nauseada no meio de tantas galerias acho muito importante visitar e entender esse tipo de ambiente voltado estritamente para o mercado e para a venda de arte, como as galerias se apresentam e apresentam os artistas e qual o perfil/ comportamento das pessoas nesse shopping em que o objeto mais barato dele custar mais de 4 dígitos. 

Na próxima feira irei fazer uma performance, vou bem vestida e usar do meu sotaque brasileiro para perguntar os preços das obras e ver como sou recebida pelas galerias. Dessa forma talvez eu me sinta mais confortável nesse ambiente. 

 

 

Leave a Reply

