Tutorial #1 

English:

building relationships

‘Life without work is guilt; work without art is brutality. ‘(John Ruskin)

I usually have the bad habit of never find the things I’m doing are sufficient or good, always I think I should be doing all different, so I was very nervous and confused to have my first meeting tutoring with Jonathan Kearney . I decided,  to be honest, and put all my thoughts and doubts that our first conversation, which ended up being almost like a therapy session. On second thought do not have much getting away from it when we are dealing with questions and artistic self-discovery.

‘Remember that the most beautiful things in the world are the most useless: peacocks and lilies, for instance.’ (John Ruskin)

I shared with him openly about my fears, anxiety, obsession, constant control and even about my possible suspect ADHD and dyslexia. Showing him what I have done in this last month Jonathan made me realize that I create strategies and direct reactions to things that do not like me or make me uncomfortable.

For example: I was afraid to enter this process and look deeply for me as an artist, my reaction to this was to dive into my subconscious and make the blind self-portraits; other direct reaction I had to the fear of exposing me and judgment of society was open on Youtube and really delve and take a chance on it. So at times I could be paralyzed by fear I faced and begot something new.

‘I believe that the sight is a more important thing than the drawing …’ (John Ruskin)

We talked specifically about the blind drawings and the beginning of a possible research that still do not know right where to go, but that’s okay because I believe that in this case the experience and the act of making are more important than the final product. And in that one minute a day looking for my own rest and letting my brain do the ‘work’ end up becoming hours of deep reflection. I believe this work I am building a relationship, maybe my work is all about it, building relationships and changing perceptions.

The teacher also pointed me to some authors and books on how to look. They are John Ruskin in James Elkins contrast. Valido also research the issues of time and space of Edward T. Hall 

Art and the Mind’s Eye: How Drawing Trains You to See the World More Clearly and to Live with a Deeper Sense of Presence  

John Ruskin – The argument of the eye  

James Elkins – How to use your eyes 

On academic matters related to study techniques, Jonathan gave me time organizing tips, building strategies to yield better and deceive will procrastinate. It is important to be smart the way you use the time and have intervals between periods of a single study. An interesting technique also physically and find a space for concentration, or space so that it serves as a trigger to the brain know that now is the time of the merger. Another strategy and the need to set goals, goals (Goals) in the short term to make.

This process of reflection and deepen the artistic practice is really exhausting, but at the same time when we go further and come to transcend all the problems and anxieties is that we can evolve and bring more truth and relevance to the work. I believe that writing, speaking openly about the fears, feel and hear feedback are crucial parts of this process.

Practical matters:

equipment  – UAL

RAUM Gallery in Camberwell, I propose exhibition / individual or collective occupations and ask for funding for this – raumgallery@gmail.com

artistic newsletter London – register as a student

Maplin – electronic materials Shop

FULL AUDIO DOWNLOAD 

!CI5yIEU5vfxu7EfxbIdxPPiLfeLTYdhi4qTPoPrWfcA

Português:

Construindo relações

‘Life without work is guilt; work without art is brutality.’ (John Ruskin)

Eu costumo ter o péssimo costume de nunca achar que as coisas que eu estou fazendo são suficientes ou boas, sempre acho que deveria estar fazendo tudo diferente, por isso eu estava muito nervosa e confusa para ter a minha primeira reunião de tutoria com o Jonathan Kearney. Resolvi ser sincera e colocar todos os meus pensamentos e duvidas nessa nossa primeira conversa, que acabou sendo quase como uma sessão de terapia.  Pensando bem não tem muito como fugir disso quando estamos lidando com questionamentos e autodescoberta artística.

‘Remember that the most beautiful things in the world are the most useless: peacocks and lilies, for instance.’ (John Ruskin)

Dividi com ele abertamente sobre meus medos, ansiedade, obsessão, controle constante e até sobre a minha possível suspeita de DDAH e dislexia. Mostrando a ele o que eu tenho feito nesse ultimo mês o Jonathan me fez perceber que eu crio estratégias e reações diretas as coisas que não me agradam ou que me deixam desconfortável.

Por exemplo: estava com medo de entrar nesse processo e olhar profundamente para mim como artista, a minha reação a isso foi mergulhar no meu subconsciente e fazer os autorretratos cegos; outra reação direta que tive ao medo de me expor e o julgamento da sociedade foi abrir o canal no Youtube e realmente me aprofundar e me arriscar nisso. Então, em momentos em que eu poderia ficar paralisada pelo medo eu enfrentei e gerei algo novo.

‘I believe that the sight is a more important thing than the drawing…’ (John Ruskin)

Nós conversamos especificamente sobre os desenhos cegos e o inicio de uma possível pesquisa que ainda não sei direto para onde vai, mas que tudo bem, pois acredito que nesse caso a experiência e o ato de fazer é mais relevante do que o produto final.  E  nesse 1 minuto por dia olhando para o meu próprio resto e deixando meu cérebro fazer o ‘trabalho’ acabam se tornando horas de reflexão profunda. Acredito que nesse trabalho estou construindo uma relação, talvez meu trabalho todo seja sobre isso, a construção de relações e mudanças de percepções.

O professor também me indicou alguns autores e livros sobre formas de olhar. São eles John Ruskin em contraste James Elkins. Valido pesquisar também as questões de tempo e espaço do Edward T. Hall   

Art and the Mind’s Eye: How Drawing Trains You to See the World More Clearly and to Live with a Deeper Sense of Presence

John Ruskin – The argument of the eye

James Elking – How to use your eyes 

Sobre assuntos acadêmicos ligados a técnicas de estudo o Jonathan me deu dicas de organização de tempo, construindo estratégias para render melhor e enganar a vontade de procrastinar. É importante ser inteligente da forma que uso o tempo e de ter intervalos entre períodos de um único estudo. Uma técnica interessante também e fisicamente achar um espaço para a concentração, um espaço ou modo que sirva como um gatilho para o cérebro saber que agora é o momento da concentração. Outra estratégia e a necessidade de se colocar metas, objetivos (Goals) a curto prazo para serem feitos.

Esse processo de refletir e aprofundar na prática artística é realmente esgotante, mas ao mesmo tempo quando vamos além e chegamos a transcender todos os problemas e as angustias é que conseguimos evoluir e trazer mais verdade e relevância para o trabalho.  Acredito que escrever, falar abertamente sobre os medos, os sentimos e ouvir feedbacks são partes cruciais desse processo.

Assuntos Práticos: 

Locação de equipementos – UAL 

RAUM Galeria na Camberwell, posso propor exposições/ ocupações individuais ou coletivas e pedir financiamento para isso – raumgallery@gmail.com

Newsletter artístico Londres – se registrar como estudante 

Maplin – Loja de materiais eletrônicos 

 

Leave a Reply

