Translations

English:

This week I made my first presentation to my classmates. I tried to squeeze everything I am/have done/want to do in a 5 minutes speech as requested by the tutor. It was complicated. How to define all the power of what I am and do in puny 5 minutes? I usually need about 15 just to contextualize my stories or a simple joke. But I understand that this type of presentation is part of a condition and British academic requirement, in which the minutes are precious and accurate. How to be direct, and to know how to synthesize my ideas is a skill that must master and keep practicing.

At this time, in front of the shortcomings of communicating directly, I also understood that expressing myself with ease and passion for what I do, is a characteristic of mine that I cannot try to hide or deny. Perhaps this is what I like most about being a Latin, in a warm, loving and communicative way. And now, after being here for a while I can say I have never felt so Brazilian and proud of it. And everything I’ve learned and am still learning culturally will only help me to be truly myself because I cherish with love the place where I came from.

In an afternoon at Tate Britain waiting for the beginning of the class, I ordered my first English tea with milk.

Português:

Nesta semana fiz a minha primeira apresentação para os colegas de sala. Tentei espremer tudo que eu sou/ tenho feito/quero fazer em 5 minutos de fala como foi pedido pelo tutor, foi complicado. Como tentar definir toda a potencia do que eu sou e faço em mínimos 5 minutos? Geralmente preciso de 15 só para a contextualizar das minhas histórias e para alguma piadinha que venham para quebrar o gelo. Mas entendi que esse tipo de apresentação faz parte de uma condição e exigência acadêmica britânica em que os minutos são preciosos e precisos. Ser direta, e saber sintetizar minhas ideias é uma habilidade que preciso dominar e continuar praticando. 

Nesse momento, em frente as deficiências de me comunicar diretamente também entendi tendo a me expressar com vontade e paixão no que eu faço, isso é uma característica minha que não posso tentar esconder ou negar. Talvez isso seja o que eu mais gosto em ser latina, ser quente, amorosa, comunicativa. E agora, depois de um tempo aqui posso dizer que nunca me senti tão brasileira e tenho orgulho disso. E tudo que eu aprendi e ainda vou aprender culturalmente só vai me ajudar a ser eu com mais verdade, pois assumo com amor de onde eu vim.   

Em uma tarde no Tate Britain esperando o início da aula pedi o meu primeiro Chá Inglês com leite. 

Leave a Reply

